5-minute freewrite day 809 prompt: shawl

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

20200101_160659_1.jpg

photo taken on my Android phone

This has been a very odd winter. We've experienced this kind before, but not often. Recently I told a newcomer that I don't think there is any such thing here as "normal" weather. The meteorologists like to use that term, but I prefer "average." So far it has been much warmer than average, with more rain than snow. It's too warm to keep the fire going in the wood stove all the time, so I end up wearing a shawl to keep the chill off. Several times we have gotten some snow (about 7.5" yesterday) and then (like yesterday) it turns to rain and makes a huge, sloppy mess. The hard-packed snow where cars have driven in our driveway is now solid ice. I won't go outside without traction devices on my boots. My husband slipped and fell on the ice a few days ago; he wasn't using traction devices. Thankfully, he didn't break any bones, and the chiropractor didn't find a great deal amiss with his spine. But he has bruises and sore muscles. That's no fun! It is supposed to get colder in a couple of days, and maybe we will see more snow and less rain. I have mixed feelings about that. I don't have to shovel rain, but snow does brighten the yard for a while. Let's see...November and December are gone, but we still have at least 3 months of winter to get through. Plenty of time for snow to show up.

Thanks to @mariannewest for the faithful supply of daily freewrite prompts!

Sort:  

I dislike snow for that very reason, I fear fallling. Happily we rarely get it here and if we do, it doesn't last for more than a day.

Each year I understand better why older folks go south for the winter.

I hate that 4 letter word!!! I am happy that your husband didn't get hurt when he fell. 5 years ago, I was helping an elderly neighbor clean the snow off of her car and I told her to go inside. When I finished, I slipped and fell on the ice and broke my wrist, my thumb and 2 fingers. That made me hate winter more.

Resident cat here, walking in the backwoods to deliver today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-810-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-backwoods

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite.

There you are @scribblingramma, all your posts are showing now, where before your page was blank.
I saw in Discord that the nodes were unstable (yesterday) so maybe that explains it.
Upvoted your post.

Thank you! I'm glad to know I still exist. ha ha!

Ha ha ha... yes you do my friend. And I am glad of it. 💓

Your winter sounds like ours ... right now we have a little bit of snow. Barometric pressure changes have been brutal for my brain... I do worry about falling as well and Jeff bought me a nice pair of London Fog winter boots for Christmas to keep me warm but I haven't really needed a whole lot of warmth yet. February seems to be the cold month around here the last couple of years. I guess we will see. Have a good night!

Last year February was our snowiest month, which is also not "normal."

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42