You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Depression

in #freewrite6 years ago

“The weight of the world is love.
Under the burden of solitude,
under the burden of dissatisfaction
the weight,the weight we carry is love. ”
― Allen Ginsberg

And its this weight I feel, as I sit at the edge of the abyss.

“The push to make suicidal efforts a mental health problem, which it usually isn't, as folks are ravaged not by insanity to the point of despair, but rapine reality.”

I do think and feel word usage is important when talking about such complex things. I find great usage of non dualistic approach of eastern philosophy. And there is a concept of Don't Cling, There was this famous Tibetan Monk, that told the acid heads of the early 60s, when you see hell rising up your legs Don't Cling, when you see the bliss of heaven above don't cling.

And you know there is something to this, deep nature, going back to rapine reality can't be squared with the western mind set. deep nature seem to me non dualistic pain/love bliss/fear death/life space/time they seem to be at their core the same. Chaos gives birth to a dancing star, or my phrase The Luminous Dark, when the abyss shimmers, giving life to everything.

lastly another concept I find useful is Detachment, in the eastern sense as I understand it. Its doesn't mean you don't feel anything, but rather you feel everything so deeply that it dissolves back into the abyss and you ready for the next felt experience, you don't cling....

Sort:  

Yes, don't cling. Upon first reading the sentence from @valued-customer, “The push to make suicidal efforts a mental health problem, which it usually isn't, as folks are ravaged not by insanity to the point of despair, but rapine reality.” I imagined being rushed down a river, free-flowing and detached as you say, but how his words were like a peg, or old piling which grabbed my shirt and forced me round, before again I am rushed down the river. Like I'd been looking so long down the river that I had forgotten what was behind me--in actual sight (using my own eyes) and not just memory.
Interesting to consider whether or not memories are planted in the sense that how we compartmentalize is so attached to key words and language (as you've mentioned). In this sense I agree with detachment, but I think too often people label the ACTION of turning (or any action) NOT detachment and in that way personal/community development can be pushed aside.
The acid, and suggestion that one shouldn't cling, but we're human and tend to and some of my greatest learning has involved delving into the darkness, being strung on a cross before resurrection, your luminous dark to shimmering abyss.
Such beautiful words positioned together! In reading them together: luminous paired with dark and then shimmering paired with abyss, there seems an abundance of light rather than equality in negative and positive connotations. In your pairings, abyss becomes a positive place :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 60616.50
ETH 2911.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46