You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Depression

in #freewrite6 years ago

Yes, don't cling. Upon first reading the sentence from @valued-customer, “The push to make suicidal efforts a mental health problem, which it usually isn't, as folks are ravaged not by insanity to the point of despair, but rapine reality.” I imagined being rushed down a river, free-flowing and detached as you say, but how his words were like a peg, or old piling which grabbed my shirt and forced me round, before again I am rushed down the river. Like I'd been looking so long down the river that I had forgotten what was behind me--in actual sight (using my own eyes) and not just memory.
Interesting to consider whether or not memories are planted in the sense that how we compartmentalize is so attached to key words and language (as you've mentioned). In this sense I agree with detachment, but I think too often people label the ACTION of turning (or any action) NOT detachment and in that way personal/community development can be pushed aside.
The acid, and suggestion that one shouldn't cling, but we're human and tend to and some of my greatest learning has involved delving into the darkness, being strung on a cross before resurrection, your luminous dark to shimmering abyss.
Such beautiful words positioned together! In reading them together: luminous paired with dark and then shimmering paired with abyss, there seems an abundance of light rather than equality in negative and positive connotations. In your pairings, abyss becomes a positive place :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46