5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Yard sale

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

charms.png

Alexandra smiled as she watched the crowd of people picking through the tables of items for sale. She hadn't been sure that there would be much of a turnout, given how the community had reacted to her when she first arrived, but it looked as though she could expect plenty of sales today.

"Ms. Grey, what is going on here?"

The rumbling voice had been expected, of course he would be here, but she had hoped that he wouldn't arrive until the afternoon. She wanted to get at least a few more sales in before he threw her day into chaos.

She turned and smiled, "Mr. Clayton, how wonderful to see you! Might I interest you in some charms?"

She held out a selection of her best charms. Protection, warmth, and light had been her best sellers so far, but given the steadily dropping temperatures and rapidly approaching winter, that was to be expected.

"I've already told you that your sales permit and business license were both rejected. You're not allowed to sell these."

"I'm well aware of the fact that I'm not allowed to run my business here in town," she said, frowning. "I'm a bit insulted that you think I would break the law."

His irritation was obvious as he clenched and unclenched his jaw a few times before he repeated, "Then what is going on here?"

"I'm having a yard sale!" she beamed.


Note: This week, I'm going to try to continue this story. I don't know that I'll be able to include previous prompts each day, but if it makes sense in the story then I'll certainly try!

And, as always, this prompt was provided by @mariannewest and can be found here.


Image sourced from Pixabay.

Sort:  

I love this!!! jumping right over to California now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65