You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Country-City Brain Drain - Freewrite Day 605 - Prompt: Moving to the City

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Carol, I have to say that I'm having a similar revelation about big city life. I, too, was raised in the country, always said cities were not for me. After experiencing many of them over the past year, including NYC (which, btw, is my favorite American city, too,) my viewpoint has changed.

I visited Harlem a couple weeks ago but don't share Miles' enthusiasm for it. Astoria is where I'd move if given the opportunity. I LOVE the tiny little row houses with the tiny little front lawns and tiny little living spaces. Less to clean, less to mow, but parking right at the door and some even have garages. A brief subway ride and you're anywhere in the city you want to go, no tolls, no traffic--although I found that navigating the Big Apple in a car to be infinitely easier than any of the rumors suggest. I had zero trouble driving in the traffic, zero trouble finding free parking, and zero trouble getting anywhere I needed to go. New York City rocks.

I no longer believe that country folk are congenial. There are exceptions to every blanket statement, but generally speaking, rural communities are hostile, hateful, intolerant, and backward. I'm sure I'll take heaping amounts of abuse for this pronouncement, but I challenge anyone to walk a mile in my shoes down the path I've traveled. I know Central Appalachia is by far the worst rural region to live in, but I grew up in the Deep South and see shades of overlap. Not so in the cities. I am quite ready to move at this point, just not sure where I'm going.

Sort:  

I hear you!!!
Our son was near the Cloisters in Harlem, and it may be that you didn't see the parts of Harlem he knows and love. "The Harlem Renaissance" of the 1920s included jazz as well as art, and that's his love. Astoria? He hasn't lived there yet but he's tried Brooklyn and Manhattan, a year of sub-letting and apartment-hopping and getting to know New York. An old city (for America) with rich history and great architecture and the Best-in-the-Nation for so many things from food to music to shopping.
I'm not surprised you found traffic better than expected - you used to drive a big rig as a trucker, right? OMG, I cannot even parallel park a car. And the quick reflexes to change lanes and dodge those lane-changers who didn't see you: that's where ADHD ought to come in handy, but not my version of ADHD.
I'm so glad you have had good experiences in other places and that you earnestly seeking to relocate. The place you live may have the reputation of being the worst rural America has to "offer," but having read about hundreds of cold cases and animal abuse, murders and drug traffickers, and human trafficking in my own backyard (or within a few miles of it), I can assure you the Midwest is not all that much better than Appalachia! You may lay claim to living in the "worst" of it, and I do not dispute that. Not at all. I'm grateful that for all the mean, petty, vicious, or merely ignorant or unkind people there are, MOST people are not as bad as all that. Statistics are unreliable at determining how mean people can be and where the mean people congregate the most. It's kinda like the degrees of tragedy: the loss of a loved one is so horrible, it doesn't matter if it could have been worse; bad is bad. Cancer usually gives people time to say goodbye and get their affairs in order, whereas sudden, unexpected deaths leave chaos and shock as well as the usual grief. Losing a loved one to sickness or a car wreck is a whole different kind of loss than having some amoral a^^hole kill your loved one.
I love @crescendoofpeace - "I find kindness and compassion wherever I go" - and can only hope that the human species will evolve more people like her and weed out the selfish SOBs, but survival of the fittest tends to favor the selfish. Then again... long term... George C. Williams's book Adaptation and Natural Selection (1966) and Dawkins's The Selfish Gene would suggest that altrusim and cooperation do serve the perpetuation of the species, but I'll stop now. This comment box is full enough.
Get thee to a city asap, Rhonda! (Eh. Trying to channel the lyrical sound of Hamlet's "Get thee to a nunnery," but it fell flat.)

Loading...

I may actually get me to a different country altogether. Who knows. LOL

Yes. Bad is bad. Very well said, Carol.

Bad is so bad, it can be hard to distinguish from The Worst.
I'm pretty sure none of us has ever witnessed The Worst.
Thanks Rhonda!
Another country - my sister went that route. She loves Europe. I'm pretty sure France would love you.

France is nice. But I'm not sure that's where I'd end up. Looking right now at countries with decent taxation laws, especially those that favor writers and publishers. I'll keep you posted. ;-)

Please do!
We have friends in Santiago de Compostelo, but Spain doesn't seem to be th economy you're looking for.

Italy also has tax breaks for artists, including writers, but as with Spain, their economy is a mess, and property values are still sky high.

Marek's sister Malwina has been living there for years.

We have our eye on somewhere a bit different to locate Steemhouse. ;-)

Any hints? ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62932.98
ETH 3353.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47