5 Minute Freewrite (Thursday) hosted by @mariannewest - Entry @reonlouw

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Source

This is my entry for the Daily Freewrite Challenge hosted by @mariannewest. You can find the prompt here. Anyone can enter. If I can do this, you can too!

Prompt: washcloth

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite and #freewritepoetry if it turns out to be poetry
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

I am very new to this freewrite challenge and to the whole freewrite concept. It has been fun and I'm also doing this on a personal level too by doing a freewrite on topics with which I'm struggling. This is not for publication but has proven very beneficial in my personal journey.

Why am I writing about this when the prompt is 'washcloths'?

Firstly, it is because the prompt has me stumped. I shower daily and use one every time but never think about this thing I'm using. As a result, it took me a long time to start typing. In fact, I had to reset my timer twice after just staring at the screen for too long. It just felt as if no one would find the image of this old guy in the shower sharing his strategy for cleansing himself edifying on any level.

Secondly, my journey currently includes a search for a cleansing of a kind. After spending many years doing my best to help people, I am acutely aware of all those that I let down or were unable to help. It feels foolish but I'm tired of easy answers for this and I'm seeking real and lasting answers. This will involve coming to terms with failures of the past and current short-comings in a way that will feel like a cleansing.

My search for a 'washcloth' that works in this instance continues.

@reonlouw




Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.39$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

It is okay to stare at the screen and actually typed out "okay I am staring at the screen now with my mind black, not knowing what to write, bla bla bla." And sometimes it didn't turn out to have any relation with washcloths too. Love reading your heartfelt freewrite.

Alright, I am delivering the next prompt to you, check it out! It is 'Sour'

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

That's a cool challenge haha. All i can say is I love being Clean nothing beats that. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58757.77
ETH 2554.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52