What’s In My shoe?

in #freewrite5 years ago

image
Source


What’s In My Shoe?



Nothing excites my two cat, Sunday and Red, than to know a mouse has got into the house. Cats have a natural instinct to hunt and being inside cats they don’t get the chance unless a little critter wanders unknowingly into their domain.

A mouse doesn’t get in the house often and when it does tnere’s a lot of running around to seek it out. The cats will stalk it for days and wait patiently for it to make a run across the floor.

When the little culprit is caught, Red, the chief head hunter, will hold the dead or almost dead mouse in his mouth and make a loud sound. It’s somewhere between a loud meow and a low scream. ~ Meeroow! Owww!

Red waits with his victim by the front door where I leave a couple pair of shoes under the deacon’s bench. After his loud announcement that signals he has the mouse, Sunday will run in to play with the mouse. This does seem cruel as sometimes the mouse still has a bit of fight left and will run into one of my shoes.

If I go to put on a shoe and the liner is partway pulled out then I know it’s been a cat and mouse game under the deacon’s bench and around my shoes. I check the shoe carefully and if I see mouse droppings it gets shook out and cleaned right away.

Seeing a single tiny black mouse turd in my shoe liner only happened once and once was enough!

....end of 5 minute freewrite with Prompt: mouse droppings.

check out @mariannewest’s post Here for more info on freewrites.

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!!
Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


64E124ED-E71A-4088-9788-0E836FBC0236.jpeg

Sort:  

I don't know how many times I have put my muck boots on to feel something squishy in there and when I turn the boot upside down, out comes a dead rodent of some sort! I always step down carefully because I hate feeling their little bones crunch under my feet. Poor little saps!

A weird feeling @goat-girlz. I feel bad for the little critters too. 🐭

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This reminded me - I had a mouse drop down from the attic and he was stuck in the wall for days until he chewed a hole out into my room. I set up poison and the hungry little thing took the bait. Then took a final nap in my shoe!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have a good shoe story, Cindy.😊

I felt sad for the little thing when I found it in my shoe!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don’t like to see anything killed either.

Congratulations @redheadpei! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 650 posts. Your next target is to reach 700 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Poor little mouse @redheadpei, one against two makes for a sad ending.

I know Angie. I feel bad for the little mouse as my cats work together to capture it.

I don't have a cat, so I recently bought a couple of small plastic live traps for the occasional mouse that wanders into my house. I hate setting and emptying those snap traps, and this way I can let the little critters go on the far side of the creek, and hopefully never see them again!

I don’t like to see them killed either. The snap traps are a good idea.

Will do, Uncle Bruni but I’ve got to look up ‘stalagmites’ first. 😊
Got it. I thought it was a special mite.
A stalagmite is a type of rock formation that rises from the floor of a cave due to the accumulation of material deposited on the floor from ceiling drippings. Stalagmites may be composed of lava, minerals, mud, peat, pitch, sand, sinter and amberat.

I've had plenty of cats, and this is a great portrayal of how a cat, and Red's accomplice Sunday, behave with a mouse! I love that Red announces his catch, and how you have to check your shoes if the insert has been clawed out. Red puts the mouse there on purpose, knowing what the mouse will do!
I never find the mice my current cat gets. I wonder what she does with them.

Thanks @owasco. Your cat probably eats them. For some reason Red lets Sunday play with them. I know they eat them sometimes. Other times I can take the dead mouse and heave it out the back door. I think the raven takes it as it’s always gone in the morning.

Yes I suppose she does. I never smell them. I'm afraid to just heave them outside or my dog will find it and I sometimes find them in my bed!

When my son was small, I used to pull his teeth when it loosened and placed it in my shoe behind a cupboard to wait overnight for the tooth mouse to fetch the tooth and to replace it with coins.
One morning I found a mousetrap in my shoe and asked my son what was going on.
He said that the mouse didn't bring him money and that he wanted to catch the mouse hahaha.

A mouse is not to bad to be found in a shoe as over here the scorpions are more of a worry.

Blessings!

That’s a cute tradition and story, Stephen. Here the tooth is put under the child’s pillow so the tooth fairy will leave some coin for it.
Yes better to see a mouse as it is harmless. Blessings!

haha! howdy redheadpei! I hate mice, they're filthy little things!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71