He’s A Jolly Good Fellow

in #freewrite5 years ago

image



Although the siblings have left the nest and my parents have passed, I think it’s important to keep the traditions of marking important milestones with some acknowledgment.

My youngest brother turns sixty a few days ago and Hubs and I drove up to Skiff Lake to celebrate. It’s a shock that my youngest sibling is getting up there in age and my sister and I wanted to mark the occasion.

When the cake was presented to my brother, Sis played the ukulele and I was accompanying her singing the ditty.

”Happy Birthday to you,
Happy Birthday to you,
Get plastered you old boy,
Happy Birthday to you.”

For the birthday dinner Sis cooked a roast beef dinner for eight people; Besides Sis and her hubby there was a couple who live nearby, the guest of honor, his girlfriend and Hubs and I for the birthday dinner.

I had made a cherry cheesecake and she had make the chocolate birthday cake.

Although he pretends he doesn’t like to be the center of attention, Bro wore the birthday hat (crown). He never stopped smiling and was like a kid in a candy store opening the fun gifts.

image


My five minute freewrite with prompt nest.

For more info on #freewrite see @mariannewest’s post Here.




Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!!
Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics



#thealliance


image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks @esteemapp for all you do!

That sounds like a very merry day. Youngest huh? I'm the oldest of five, and our youngest still has 4 more years to go.

Hi @owasco. I’m the oldest of five also. A sister and three brothers but one of the brothers deceased.

@redheadpei I am happy you had a good birthday with your baby brother, 60 is a good milestone. I wish I had a slice of your cherry cheesecake, my mind can taste it.

Thanks and I would love to share a slice of cheesecake with you. It’s my go-to thing to make for a special occasion. It was a fun time.
@myjob, are you back from your cruise 🚢 ?

@redheadpei making cheesecake is my daughter's thing, too. Yes I am back, had a great time.

Family celebrations are so special. Happy young birthday to your brother @redheadpei.

Thanks Angie @angiemitchell. Because of distance, I don’t see my family that often and it was nice to have the birthday to celebrate. 🎉

hahaha! Howdy redheadpei! And here's wishing many many more of those birthday celebrations for you all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45