God’s Red Earth

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

image


God’s Red Earth



When I think of earth I’m not thinking of the trees, sky or seas, just the land, the soil...dirt.

Living on P.E.I. I am blessed with the gorgeous red soil and when I go off Island I miss seeing the vibrant red earth.

The land here was first inhabited by one of our native people, the Mi’kmag. Part of their mythology is P.E.I. was formed by the Great Spirit placing some dark red earth, shaped like a crescent, on the waters.

The word Earth is used in a few different contexts.

”She’s an earthy person.”
“He’s the salt of the earth.”
“What on earth are you doing?”

I was out digging around my rhubarb plants today...mucking in God’s red earth and pulling weeds. I don’t do much gardening, just try to keep the rhubarb patch in good shape and clear of a mint plant that has taken over the bed.

Besides the rhubarb, I plant a few tomatoes and Hungarian peppers. I will pick up the starter plants at the local garden center in a couple weeks.

The May 24th long weekend is the time when everyone is busy putting their garden plants and seeds in the earth. It’s often referred in these parts as the ‘Two-Four’ weekend. Do I need to explain? :)

The weather is normally gorgeous around the ‘Two-Four’ weekend and folks are getting their case of 24 beer and heading outside, perhaps camping, to enjoy God’s earth, no matter what color the dirt.



My submission to Five Minute Freewrite. Prompt Earth.

Check out @mariannewest’s post Here if you are interested in #freewrite.

Above photo I took at a untouched natural beach overlooking the Northumberland Strait on Prince Edward Island (P.E.I.).




art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics



#thealliance


image

Sort:  

Uncle Bruni has a Festival of Flowers that weekend and I will be selling the tickets and counting the money. I can't wait. 🤞

Not a ‘Two-Four’weekend then, Uncle Bruni. 😂 🍺 Thanks for all your support and resteems. Much appreciated. 💕
Your Festival of Flowers sounds wonderful. 🌺

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks @esteem for your generosity. ♥️

Your red beaches are quite something; haven't seen anything like that since we lived in Jamaica when I was a kid and parts of the island was heavy with bauxite, very red.

=^..^=

Thanks for stopping by @curatorcat. 🐱 💕 The red soil here is due to the high iron-oxide content.

Nice piece again @redheadpei. And i have already did some more reading about P.E.I., to be honest never heard of it before with it's red sands.

Hi @tijntje. 💕 Happy you did some reading of the Island.
‘Anne of Green Gables’ is a world famous book by a PEI author Lucy Maude Montgomery. It was published in 1908 and put the Island on the map, so to speak. 😊

Great freewrite! And what gorgeous red soil!! Love it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @mrscwin for stopping by and your lovely comments. 😊 💕

You are so welcome!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=redheadpei
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=god-s-red-earth-bffd2ae278e1a


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Ah, Anne of green Gables, a favourite of mine in my youth and responsible for the sum total of my knowledge of PEI. And with no further ado, I deliver to you the prompt for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-565-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-delegation

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks for delivering the prompt @deirdyweirdy. The site where the author of Anne, Lucy Maud Montgomery, lived on PEI is quite the tourist attraction.

A beautiful image and and enjoyable read @redheadpei I'm envious of your rhubarb patch as I love rhubarb. 😊

If you lived nearer you would be welcome to have some of the rhubarb, Trudee. It is so good in pies or made into a sauce/jam for putting on bread.

Awww.....that is very kind of you Jo......and I would not hesitate to take you up on that offer. I often mix rhubarb with apple or berries to make pies with as I love the tartness they offer to an otherwise sweet dish.

Haha! very good redheadpei! I hope the 24th is a beautiful weather weekend this year. Do we know what makes the soil there so red?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49