Freewrite: What’s so Funny?

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

image
source

What’s So Funny


When I think of Comic I think of comedians....Abott and Costello, Rodney Dangerfield, Lucille Ball and more recent ones like Jim Carey who have us laughing with their craziness and foolishness.

Abbott and Costello had a famous baseball routine that they performed many times.

”Who’s on first?”

”I said throw the ball to Naturally.”

” You don't! You throw it to Who!”

Abbott thinks the ball player on first is called Who. It goes on from there with more comic relief.

Dangerfield made jokes about marriage and if you watched any of Lucy’s show, her husband Desi was usually the one duped.

There was the comic team of Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis. Dean was the straight man to Jerry’s antics. Desi Arnez was the serious one to Lucy’s comic style.

I had a bit of experience with stand up comedy in doing a roast on my boss when he retired...that’s many years ago. :)

Some of the jokes I used have completely left my mind but I remember one about gunpowder.

”He must brush his teeth with gunpowder in the mornings as he shoots off his mouth all day long.”

It got a good laugh as he was robust and loud. My joke was a bit harsh but all was taken in good fun.

Keep the laughs going...Laughter is good for the soul



My entry for the five minute freewrite with prompt Comic.

For more info on #freewrites check @mariannewest’s post Here.



image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks @esteemapp. Much appreciated and hope your week is going well. 💕

@redheadpei, Keep laughing and definitely we should fill our life with fun and smiling moments. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much @chireerocks. Blessing to you and yours. 💕

Welcome and thank you so much for your kind response.

I used to watch all those TV shows when I was younger @redheadpei. Uncle Bruni here catching up. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I was thinking I’m giving my age away knowing all these comedians. Glad you saw them too.😂
Thanks Uncle Bruni @wonderwop for your support. Have a great day! ❤️

thanks for this. I love the old-time comedians!
Hadn't heard this before but it's great: ”He must brush his teeth with gunpowder in the mornings as he shoots off his mouth all day long.”

Thanks Carol @carolkean. Happy you liked my joke. 😂 Have a great weekend. 💕

Howdy redheadpei! this is a great freewrite, comedians are great too!

Hiya Cowboy! Thanks for your kind support. I forgot to mention Red Skeleton. Probably the first comedian I ever saw on TV.
He had a TV Comedy show and opened with a monologue of Gertrude and Heathcliff who were two seagulls. 😂

haha! Two seagulls...lol. That sounds funny right there. Yes Red was hilarious. So many of the great ones were real clean too and now most of the modern ones swear like sailors!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57102.05
ETH 2348.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33