Cowgirl Dreams

in #freewrite5 years ago

image



Vern Goslin has a song country and western song I like called ‘This Ain’t My first Rodeo.’ He suspects his love is cheating on him and he’s been through that before, hence the title of the song.

My father had a record collection of country songs when I was young. Much to my mother’s dismay but my pleasure he played them often.

I wasn’t influenced by the beautiful women on reality shows as we didn’t have a TV. My idea of my future was not a model but to be a cowgirl, go out West ( Alberta) ride the range and take part in rodeos. Of course I would learn to play guitar and yodel like Gene Audrey on those old records. Never did master that talent.

Needless to add, I was horse crazy and a tomboy. My aunt had a beautiful Arabian stallion she would sometimes let me ride on. When she wasn’t around with her horse, I would ride bareback on father’s work horses. They weren’t impressed and I often got bucked off. This did not deter me from my dreams of riding the open range on a beautiful horse, yodelling my heart out.

Dreams of rodeo riding changed in my teens when I went from horse crazy to boy crazy....

......end of my five-minute freewrite.


Above photo is mine of the two horses.

If you are interesting in freewriting, check @mariannewest’s post Here.



Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!!
Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics



#thealliance


image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Am here with the weekends freewrite prompt.

Just this once, and you're glued
this freewrite prompt is single.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-6-1-2019-single-prompt-option
...
...
A double portion of anointing
Comes on whoever tried multi-prompt writing.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-6-1-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
...
Do have a nice weekend.
Happy New Month.

Thanks @botefarm for delivering the prompt. Have a nice weekend. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40