You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Country-City Brain Drain - Freewrite Day 605 - Prompt: Moving to the City

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

I love the way this freewrite works on multiple levels. It's an interesting insight into your the family history as well as providing reflections on social conditioning re city vs country living. Beyond all that, it just flows like I was sitting in a room with you listening to you speak on your thoughts about city vs country.... I really like those types of blog posts. There is a wonderfully flowing conversational style to this and authenticity with all the pics of your family :)

Um, you mean yodeling out in the field, or playing a harmonica when nobody else was within earshot?

Ha ha, this made me laugh too. As I get older I find myself increasingly dissatisfied with city life to be honest. I think if I ever get out of the financial hole I'm in I may be destined to be a country bumpkin as they call 'country folk' in the UK :)

Sort:  

Raj!!! I thought you'd taken a hiatus from Steemit to work on your fiction.
Thank you for reading and commenting!!! You are one of the kindest, most considerate, selfless, and generous people ever to grace social media (and the blockchain). And the world of fiction. Keep writing!! As for escaping cities, my sister believes Brazil has the best, at least in a town an hour from Sao Paulo, where she can walk out the door, walk a few blocks to the market with fresh produce, hear live music (bossa nova!)... Brazil is famed for percussionists... but I digress.

Freewriting

is a great way to develop "a wonderfully flowing conversational style," so long as we remember not to overly revise and edit. When we don't freewrite, when we pause in search of the right word, we tend to lose that conversational flow and start writing stilted stuff. Freewrites usually do need edits, but there's a fine balance to strike between the flow of words and the corral of words to herd into nice sentences and paragraphs.
Great to hear from you, Raj!!!!
p.s. Even if you do go rural, you'll never be a bumpkin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49