Rough Around the Edges

in #freewrite6 years ago

man-915585_1920.jpg

Butterflies took up residence in Alexander’s stomach. He walked slowly to the podium. His knees started to wobble. Hands were sweating profusely. “We will now hear from Mr. Alexander Smith, our last nominee. Mr. Smith will you share with us why you deserve to win the Humanitarian Award?” the moderator asked.

“Why certainly ma’am. Good evening ladies and gentlemen. Now my name is Alexander but you can call me Big Al,” he replied with a southern drawl. “This evening you have heard from a lot of smooth talkers. Some might say ‘smooth as silk’. You will not hear ‘silk’ talk or any highfalutin words come out of my mouth. In fact, I am a little rough around the edges.

To be perfectly honest with you, it’s not always just words that make up a man, but what’s in the heart of a man that really counts. Now that’s where I come in, Big AI has a heart for people. I love people and people love me. One of the reasons that they love me is because I feed them.

This year my garden fed over 2200 families that went to bed with their bellies full. Yep, big Al grew all them ‘smooth as silk’ vegetables and shared them with his neighbors,” he explained as he popped his black suspenders and left the podium.

Pixabay Photo


I hope you enjoyed this 5-minute freewrite story that I created using the prompt for this day “smooth as silk” created by @mariannewest in the #freewrite writing challenge published here.

IMG_1493pye.jpg
Created in PhotoFunia

Sort:  

Good job. I can see why he was nominated. Did he win?

Here is today's prompt: Day 294: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: puzzle

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png

Thank you @wordymouth for the positive feedback. In my mind he won the award but since my five minutes were up we will never know. LOL

I do have to say, that photo looks exactly like the Big Al you describe, right down to the suspenders. :)

A great use of the prompt. Not an ordinary use, either, but one that is actually quite appropriate nonetheless. And I enjoyed the call to action. We could all stand to do a little less of the fancy talking and a little more of the selfless service. :)

Thank you for the great feedback @glenalbrethsen. Yes, I agree.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pyemoney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.55
ETH 3796.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52