If We Could Turn Back Time (Freewrite 35: record)

in #freewrite7 years ago

Freewriting

Today's freewrite is record. This will be my 35th freewrite! This time, I wanted to go into a philosophical route rather than the typical story.

pexels-photo-266046.png

Image Source: Pexels

If We Could Turn Back Time

Every action is recorded in the history of our universe. The consequences that result can never be taken back - unless we discover some way of time-travelling and the manipulationg of space and time.

Then again, future me would have already came to save me. If time-travelling exists and my future self decides not to change my fate, then I know that whatever happens in my life, I will learn to accept it. There is no shame or regret over the things I have done in my past.

We could lose ourselves, thinking about "What ifs" and all the moral codes of our cultures and societies. As a human, there is one law that I have to respect more than anything: the natural law. I cannot tell you what that is exactly. My statement would only be one philosophical opinion and nowhere near a fact.

For me, the natural law is that I am human, and I have to respect my humanity. My humanity comes with instincts and desires, that might at times clash with the moral code of society. In time, I have changed my opinion on many things, for instance, I no longer eat meat. However, I cannot blame myself and feel guilty over eating meat for when I was a child or I did not know any better. I cannot blame myself for things I have done in moments of weakness. I can only take those experiences and grow for them. Without shame and without regret.

Part of being human is not being a god. It may be hard to acknowledge, but I am not perfect, and mistakes are what makes me. In my life, my biggest lessons were from mistakes, so I refuse to apologise for the actions of my past self.


Welcome to the Sombre Days

My poetry collection, Welcome to the Sombre Days, is published as paperback on Amazon and ebook on Kindle. I am also posting the poems on steemit; here are some of the latest poems:

Latest Poems

absent
Ghost
Debris


IOW COLOR MAP.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics


lgbtbanner7.png


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

We're only human. I think this is brilliant. ☺

I think so too ;) ahaha. Thank you :)

Good observations, Jeremy. I agree with this

I know that whatever happens in my life, I will learn to accept it.

I've made countless mistakes, but learned to go softly on myself and realize I must give myself the same courtesy as I do others and chock it up to experience. The true test is to never wallow in self pity, but let the lessons makeme a better person.

Exactly. And if I do something that I think I cannot recover from, then I will convince myself that if it is true, a future self will have already come to change his past (i.e. my present/past). The fact that future me is happy with my story, I will be happy with it too. It's a strange way of seeing it, but hey, using sci-fi for personal growth is a valid method.

This reminds me of those time when I was in depression period and really wished I could turn back time. We are only humans after all and we tend to make stupid mistakes, but as we grow older we learn to accept it and learn from our mistakes.

Yeah. I've gone through depression too, and now, I would not go back and change things, at all. It made me stronger and made me who I am today, but I suppose during that period I lived only in shame and regret.

I like your logic!! If our future self doesn't come to save us - we are okay!!

Thank you - it's a little out of the box, but it totally works!

honestly, I don't think it'd be worth it to try to undo the things we've done. They make us who we are, in the end. Really interesting piece, got me thinking. And I thank you for that :)

Anyhow, I'm in charge of delivering the latest prompt, so here you go:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-165-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-yogurt

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Exactly. And if we don't like the person who we are today, we don't change the past, but we change the present ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55