5 Minute Freewrite - Sun God Rules

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)


For today's prompt in the 5 Minute Freewrite hosted by @mariannewest I decided to go a different route and attempt a poem. The prompt was : Good Morning, Sunshine and below is my interpretation of the prompt.

 

 

5 minute freewrite writing fiction blog poem poetry
Image Source Pixabay

Glorious globe of eternal life peering down so furiously,

Upon my brow and back, bent in toil to the soil.

How must i turn the soil so passionately against your oppressive heat?

Where can I hide from your heated scorn and displeasure?

Wickedly wanton whispers are heard from others around,

Complaining of your dictatorship of pain and penance.

Our sins are too great to pay upon your smoking alter,

Our sacrifices consumed by the heat you dole out upon your subjects.

Oh good morning sunshine, please leave me in my peace and pain!

Go forth to my brothers and sisters to the west so they may,

Share in my sins and shame and subjugation.

Go onward to my distant cousins on the horizon so they to,

may understand the power of your reign and rule!

 

If you are curious about participating in the 5 minute freewrite, then I suggest you check out the most recent post that describes the parameters and participation guidelines.

 

You may also like my recent nod to the beat generation: Ode to the Beat Generation - The Ride


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/07/15/5-minute-freewrite-sun-god-rules/

All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

Makes me think of summer on this cold winters day.

I always forget you guys are opposite seasons. Stay warm!

Thanks i have the wood heater burning away keeping the home warm :)

Ahhh... this poem speaks perfectly of the hot summer weather we are having now. Ugh!
Well done!

Thanks, if anyone can relate I know you can!

That was interesting!!

your poem warmed my heart... thank you...well written.

Thank you! I appreciate the support and feedback.

We are happy to tell you that this poem is featured in our Poetry Digest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/poetry-digest-fifteens-edition

Upvoted a newer post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39