You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Country-City Brain Drain - Freewrite Day 605 - Prompt: Moving to the City

in #freewrite5 years ago

I grew up in a town much like @carolkean's, the largest town in the county by far at under 3000 live souls. After college, also in a small town, I moved first to Boston and then NYC for a total of 24 years of city life.
The parking and traffic jams drove me to the suburbs, where I have wallowed for the past 20 years.
I can say this much: people in the cities are far more friendly than they are anywhere else. Supportive, humorous, kind, vibrant, diverse, exciting etc. I miss city life, but know that the parking drives me insane so I choose not to live there, only to visit.
Harlem is GREAT. I'd happily live there if I could find a house with a parking place. And it's a few minutes to get out of the city from there, another plus.

Sort:  

Yes: people in the cities are far more friendly than they are anywhere else has been my experience too. Supportive, humorous, kind, vibrant, diverse, exciting etc. - but The Parking!!! drives me insane too.
Staci, you really are a kindred soul! And I really do need to experience LIVING in a city, not in a suburb, not on the fringe. How many of us -- writers, Steemians-- live(d)

On the Fringe | or with Rural Origins?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49