Go Go Gopher and Knocked Knees, a Freewrite

in #freewrite2 years ago

image.png


My first visit to Go Go Gopher was a waste of time. I thought "These people are crazy" and I left after only a few minutes.

But after a few days of absolute boredom in this one-horse town, I decided to go again. This time, I took my cat Patches. She would liven things up for me, maybe help me make a name in my new town.

Patches is a female calico. Anyone who knows calicos knows that that breed is a bit unpredictable, and it's best if there are not more than one of them in a room at the same time, or stuff gets broken.

This time, a whole bunch of knees got broken.

The gophers were in cages around the room. Folks would trap one in their yard, then bring it to this event to get a prize for the biggest gopher. Usually the fellas are weighed, the prize is given, the newspaper publishes a tiny story about it, and that's that.

Well, Patches was very interested in one of the smaller gophers. She's a smart one, she can open doors, and when I wasn't looking, she let her chosen gopher out. He made a beeline for the punch bowl (he must have been thirsty), jumped right in and tipped it over. Bedlam ensued. Folks slipped in the punch, folks started screaming, gophers started going wild in their cages. The one being weighed at the time bit his handler, whose knees buckled. A lot of knees buckled that night.

The headline on the next day's lead article in the local newspaper was "Go Go Gopher Knocks Knees."

My reputation there was sealed forever. I had to leave town.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is knee problems. I set the timer for 4 minutes and 30 seconds, as I always do, and started letting the story tell itself. But I got confused with the prompts, and took off on yesterday's prompt, which was gopher. When I realized, I had to switch it up suddenly, hence the all-over-the-place freewrite.



Sort:  

I like it, my sister has two calicos, and about 40 giant quail....

A lot like your story, LOL!

🐈🐾🐾🐈

I hope they are really big quail! Thanks for reading my flight of imagination. It's a good thing writing them is really fun.

She say two will fill a canning jar, but I think three is more likely. But they grow Fast!

I enjoy a good story, I read a lot....

💗🤠💙😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72