Day 496: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: grass

in #freewrite5 years ago

I once tried to grow some grass. All my food is organic or better, and I wanted to be sure my grass was too.

I splurged by spending a whopping $100 on ten cuttings of OG Kush. I rooted them carefully with a costly burbling gizmo to aerate the water until the roots sprouted, then I planted them in hard to find organic rooting mix. I purchased a very expensive grow tent to protect them from contamination, along with lights and a special thermometer to maintain the correct temperature. This was all a tremendous amount of work.

Then, of course they got aphids or some such. Since I was going the organic route, I had to research essential oils to treat those. I sprayed them with clove and neem oils which did nothing. I finally had to order some organic essential oil mixture that was both expensive and guaranteed to work, which it did. I felt like a pro!

Next, they got some sort of gnat in the soil. I tried this ground glass on top of the soil, which I mixed with a special cinnamon that I had to order at a steep price.

I became worried that my other houseplants would get these gnats so I put the grass out on my deck. Worrying about a neighbor reporting me kept me up at night, and I spent a lot of money erecting trellises to obscure the sight lines.

The ground glass and cinnamon didn't work, so I put tiny vessels (I love that word) of apple cider vinegar on each plant, which had to be refilled regularly. I would find many flies dead in the vinegar every morning, but this didn't really eliminate the flies.

Those plants needed to be cared for like newborn babies. I started to hate them. That's never a good thing.

So I gave them away to a friend. A few of those stupid plants grew easily and splendidly in his yard, and he gave me a bit of it after he harvested them. My cost for $50 of organic OG Kush was probably close to $1000.


This is my entry to @mariannewest freewrite challenge: https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-496-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-grass-1551326559
It's all as true as I can remember, and thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Anyway, good effort done on the garden. The grass. I saw you just did the next freewrite. Suppose to deliver the prompt, but you are faster than me. So, I am here to support then. :)

It's always nice to hear from you! Thank you for your support, and this reminds me I still need to put a link on the challenge post. Writing them might take only five minutes, but all the rest takes me a loooong time.

!sbi status

Hi @owasco!

  • you have 5 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 102529532204 or 0.062 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.012 $


    Did you know Steem Basic Income has a Quality Policy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39