You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflection: Partiko 2018 - Why I am on Steem

in #freewrite6 years ago

Hoi Kitty, hoe gaat het?

To answer some of the points you brought up: Steemit has a visibility problem because everything is based on "value" meaning that a post with a large up vote, be it from a whale or a series of small bot votes that accumulated, will rank high on the trending page. This means that the small fry, ie; plankton and minnows, will never get exposure unless they get lucky. Some people partially solved this problem by joining small communities. For me this would never work so I never joined any of them.

The fact that you had trouble posting (besides your bad connection) was due to HF-20. It introduced the new Resource Credits, RCs, or mana. In the beginning this meant that new users would run out of oomph after a single post, transfer, or a few votes, and had to wait 2 days for their RCs to rise again. This became the reason I delegate 40SP to new users. I sometimes start off with 100SP and gradually reduce that so the new user has the chance to function while powering up their own SP.

One of the reasons I don't comment on everyone's posts is because at any moment I could have another issue with a shill who will try to flag me into oblivion; I don't want to bring that to new users I support.

With the current situation, and depending on your personal situation of course, I would power up most but not all of the Steem you have sitting there. Powering up what you have is good protection from being hacked because it takes 13 weeks to get it all out, giving you the chance to get help to recover your account before they take it all.

Hope this helps. On my YouTube channel, on the "about" page, you can find one of my email addresses should you ever find yourself cut-off from Steemit. Having the ability to network off platform is better than nothing should something happen beyond our control.

Happy new year!

Groetjes oet Twente.

Sort:  

Hoi Onno,
Het gaat een stuk beter nu. Dank je! Ik heb je maar toegevoegd via YouTube zag geen e-mail en kon je ook niet vinden via wordpress.
Ik kan wel wat NL hulp (Jip en Janneke taal) gebruiken bij het Steen, Steempower enz gebeuren. Bedoel je dat ik de savings moet omzetten in steempower?

I read what you and @crypto.piotr wrote and I agree with you, you need audience. Since Steemit is about crypto currencies these contents will be, generally speaking, interesting for everyone. This is not the case if it comes to writing short stories, music or photography of flowers.

Happy New Year
uit Gelderland

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow. this comment deserve upvote for sure.

Great work @onnovocks

ps.

plankton and minnows, will never get exposure unless they get lucky. Some people partially solved this problem by joining small communities

The truth is that currently being in trending page doesnt give much exposure as well. I tried several times and I hardly am receiving any comments from new people.

I would say that sending mass memos to selected group of people plus steem-bounty.com is a way to go right now

Piotr

I think that Steemit was designed to build user/holder base for Steem rather than a social media alternative. Now that we are here we should try and do something with it. Your method of mass mailings works well when you know your audience, but I will never have an audience, or at a minimum it will take years to build one.

I notice this on YouTube: When I post Hard Rock, all the country bumpkins unsub and when I post Folk Music, the Thrash-Metal-heads leave, so followers on Steemit will not be different. To build an audience, in my case, would require me to stick to one particular format and one particular music genre.

I can't do that, besides, if I only posted Jazz I'd only have a handful of posts per year and maybe 3 followers :)

I will trace back the comments on my music posts as per your idea and check out steem-bounty to see how far I get with my next post.

Thank you for your time and ideas!

Yours,
Onno.

hi @onnovocks

I will never have an audience, or at a minimum it will take years to build one

Why not? I would be happy to help.

Most important is to keep records of all your most active followers (in notepad/excel) and spent some time every now and then engaging with them.

Building "core" of an audience is the most important. If people will notice that there is always few comments then it will atract them more than anything else.

After all this is how most people select quality content: by scrolling down right away and looking if there are any interesting comments. I do it to. If I see only comments from bots then I tend to ignore post.

So if you would like to blog more about blockchain/crypto then I can help you get some exposure. You can mix it with your music passions.

Cheers
Piotr

The reason I'll never develop a steady audience is because I don't/can't stick to 1 genre of music (see what I wrote about YT).

As an example: One of my videos was stolen; copied, cut and uploaded to FB. On someone else's FB account that only handled the Blues; that stolen video got 1,400 views per day!! On my YT channel it got 700 views in 6 months. It had nothing to do with the quality of the recording because that track ended up on the live CD for the band and it was good enough to steal and risk getting caught (which he did).

The reason that the video got so few views on my YT channel is because most of the folks that follow me there are into Rock and Metal and they don't really care for 40's or 50's style Blues.

I'm not a blogger, I came here because I was told that DTube was a good altrnative to YouTube. As it stands, DTube wasn't really working for me. It's missing a feature I absolutely can't do without, forcing me to use YT for that, and I do not have time to game the system after spending 2 or 3 days making a video (this is true for YT as well; Sites like devumi(.)com were selling views and subs, not unlike the bots on Steemit).

For me the challenge is to make a halfway decent music video under less than perfect circumstances and I don't care who is on Stage as long as they can play :) To do this I deal with bad lighting, drunks, and audiences that like to hear themselves talk.

I can't chase after only Jazz or only Rock bands, it would be far too time consuming, I get what I get. Such is life :)

Piotr, thank you for your offer to help and your time, but videos is all I really do. Crypto currencies only interest me as far as participating in a new economy and the constant banter about this coin or that coin, up or down, etc don't interest me enough to write a decent article on the subject, even if I am interested in what knowledgeable folks have to say about it.

Kind regards,
Onno.

Dear @onnovocks

Piotr, thank you for your offer to help and your time, but videos is all I really do.

Of course.

Yours,
Piotr

You can make a post out of your answers over here.
Like you said "I think that Steemit was designed to build user/holder base for Steem rather than a social media alternative. Now that we are here we should try and do something with it." I think this is what it is about. This is not a substitute for facebook or twitter or instagram. So what can we do with it?

Posted using Partiko Android

With "So what can we do with it" you asked the right question. I'm still looking for the right answer and I suspect there may be more than 1 correct answer, but none of the answers would be interesting to us unless we can produce something in exchange for Steem in a profitable manner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.17
ETH 2341.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33