Tests for a Spider - Freewrite Day 486 Entry - Prompt: TeststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

Hello there. I hope you're having a good day :)

This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these, and thank you to the people who have delegated SP to me to be able to continue utilizing the Steem platform. I'm very grateful for all the support.

I’ve been challenging myself to make all of the freewrites I do match a particular theme. So far, I have made them about wild animals that tend to get a bad reputation, and am finding it to be a very enjoyable challenge. I’d be curious if anyone else had any other suggestions.


https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-486-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-test

Prompt: “Test”


The spider sat in the middle of her web. She had spent hours crafting it, making all of the angles precise and unique. She wouldn’t let that fly who escaped yesterday get away again. But now, she realized that she had forgotten which lines were sticky. She wanted to get out of the center, to hide on the outskirts, but was not sure how to get there safely. So, she had to test each line. She reached out gently with one of her legs, tapping on the line in front of her. Her leg stuck, and she struggled to pull it up. With much effort, it came loose. “Not that one,” she thought to herself. To make sure she didn’t miss anything, she went to the next one in a clockwise fashion. This one was clear, and she was able to move out a little ways. In this fashion, she made it out of the middle of the web. Now, she could wait in peace for her next meal. This corner she made her home it was frequented by so many fruit flies, it was all she could do to eat them. She had never had it so easy. But then, the giant humans kept putting in rotting food and the flies kept coming. She wondered if the humans appreciated her services. One time, to test how safe the humans were, she stayed out while they walked by. One of them freaked out, making very loud noises and shaking things at her. She did not like that, so scurried away back to her safe hiding place. As tests went, it had scared her. So now she always hid from the humans. It was a mutually beneficial arrangement, though she didn’t think the humans saw it that way unfortunately.


So I’ve always been on the fence about spiders. I’ve never particularly liked them, but they don’t scare me. As I have come to learn more about ecosystems, and permaculture, I understand that spiders have their place in our lives, and help manage the bug populations in our homes. As someone who eats a lot of fruit, fruit flies are a common sight in my home. I appreciate the spiders for preventing me from getting overrun.

Also, as a fun fact, spiders change the layout of their webs everyday, they’re never quite the same. And, the webs do have some sticky and some non-sticky lines, but the spiders are able to remember which are which with excellent precision. The scenario in my freewrite is unlikely to happen, but I have to imagine that some spiders get lost in their own webs on occasion.

Here’s a beautiful web I found on Unsplash, so that the thumbnail won’t be a spider for those who are scared of them.

Source

Here is what I think is a very cute spider :)

Source


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Until next time,

Namaste

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I love spiders, love your photos, and I'm glad you answered the question:
... spiders change the layout of their webs everyday, they’re never quite the same. And, the webs do have some sticky and some non-sticky lines, but the spiders are able to remember which are which with excellent precision. Cool!
And here is today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-487-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-cliff-hanger

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm really enjoying this theme. Thank you for suggesting it :)

Posted using Partiko Android

You're a natural! I'm glad you're speaking up for the hated critters of the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95