Lynx in the snow - Freewrite Day 484 Entry - Weekend Single Prompt: White Cat

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone reading this :)

This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these. The Freewrite community has also graciously agreed to “adopt” me, promoting me on their page and giving me daily upvotes. It is much appreciated, and hopefully my writings will be up to their standards.

I’m thinking about challenging myself to make all of the freewrites I do match a particular theme. So far, I’ve had a suggestion to make them about wild animals that tend to get a bad reputation. I’d be curious if anyone else had any other suggestions.


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-16-2019-single-prompt-option

Prompt: “White Cat”


The lynx walked through the snow. His massive, padded feet made almost no sound on the soft, cold substance, as he walked towards the den he called home. He jumped over the frozen creek, expecting to alight softly on the other side. But chance wasn’t on his side. He hit a patch of ice, and slid into a massive snow bank. POOF Snow went flying everywhere. He crawled back out, covered head to toe in snow, which caked onto his fur. He was now pure white, as the snow covered up all of his glorious coloring. He was cold and hungry though, so didn’t even bother to shake it off. His thick fur coat would protect him from the worst of the temperature. So he started his walk back to his den. Now, this silent predator stalked through this world of white, unseen to all because of his newfound color. If anyone were to come to this scene, they would be hard pressed to pick out where the lynx was as he noiselessly walked among the trees. For he was an animal of grace, power, and stealth. He would wear this new coat of snow, just as though it was his own fur. For he would not be daunted. He would not be swayed. He was an animal.


I wanted to capture the elegance of the lynx with this story. Hopefully I did to some degree. I am trying to work on my visual imagery, but it’s not something I’ve ever been particularly strong with so working it into these five minute stretches is definitely a challenge.

To supplement my visual imagery, here is a cool picture of a lynx. I hope you enjoy it.

Source

I also wanted this piece to reflect on my opinion of animals. What we all are, or can be. Humans nowadays have lost the easy grace and physical prowess that should be our birthright as animals. It’s one of the reasons I do parkour. I want to regain that level of control, of capability, that is inherent in so many of our animal brethren. I envy other animals of their abilities. We may have our brains, but we fall so far behind in the realm of movement. Maybe someday I’ll be on the level of a lynx. One can dream.


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.

I would also like to say a giant thank you to the people who have delegated SP to me, I’m not sure if they want to be tagged in these posts, but they’re all incredibly generous and it is very much appreciated.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Until next time,

Namaste

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This was such a beautiful story. You definitely managed to portray the lynx's grace and beauty very well. ❤ Are you still looking for a We-Write partner?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :) I'm glad it came across well. I am indeed :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! I learn something new... A lynx... It's a beautiful animal. 😃

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 485: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: heretics.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20180924103629.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, I'm glad you were able to learn something new :)

Isn't the Monday prompt out? Test? I thought I saw it. Thank you for delivering this though :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent #freewrite, I love these exotic cats. 👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22