A Day in the Life of a Naked Mole Rat - Freewrite Day 485 Entry - Prompt: Heretics

in #freewrite6 years ago

Hello there. I hope you're having a good day :)

This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these, and thank you to the people who have delegated SP to me to be able to continue utilizing the Steem platform. I'm very grateful for all the support.

I’m thinking about challenging myself to make all of the freewrites I do match a particular theme. So far, I’ve had a suggestion to make them about wild animals that tend to get a bad reputation. I’d be curious if anyone else had any other suggestions.


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-485-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-heretics

Prompt: “Heretics”


The naked mole rat crawled through the dirt, his near blind eyes blinking to keep clean. As he was crawling, he came across a root. Thick and tough, this root would prove to be quite a delicious challenge. Opening his jaws wide, he started in, chewing vigorously with his large teeth. With some effort, he chewed off a large piece, and started the arduous task of carrying it back to the main den. He pulled it through tunnel after tunnel, around bends and sharp corners, never loosing his way in the pitch black darkness he called home. Finally, he returned to the nest, depositing the food for the good of the group. For he was not concerned with himself, only with what would best serve his family. After a quick nibble of some of the food he had gathered, off he went again, in a new direction. For the work of a naked mole rat is never done. Constantly out, moving dirt, digging new holes. He is very industrious, and rests only when his body tells him it’s time. With no night and day in this underground realm, his only judgement of time is how much he has accomplished. After another few roots gathered, and a couple more tunnels made, he feels he has done enough for the day, and curls up amongst his family. He sleeps soundly, for he knows there will be more to do come waking. He will be ready though. For while he may be a heretic of the mammals, he is still an animal, and follows that universal drive for life, joy, and comfort.


Naked mole rats are awesome creatures. Definitely heretical to a lot of aspects of mammalian tendencies. The lack of hair isn’t actually one of the major ones. They’re virtually immune to cancer, as well as many other diseases that plague other mammals. They are one of only two mammal species that have insect hive-like social structures, with queens and workers. They also have bathroom chambers for the colonies.

By Edward Russell at flickr - File:Naked Mole Rats.jpg, CC BY-SA 2.0, Link

Some people may think that they’re ugly creatures, or boring because they live underground. I think that they’re incredibly fascinating. Being a heretic myself, I feel a certain kinship with these unique creatures. I’m sure that, like nearly all things, the more people learn about them, the more appreciative they will be of them.


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Until next time,

Namaste

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

so fun that you could take this prompt there....

Thank you :) I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm having fun making all of the prompts fit an animal theme. This one definitely took a bit of thinking in advance.

Posted using Partiko Android

Uncle Bruni hopes you enjoyed your adoption week at the @freewritehouse. Congratulations on your posts. 👏

I did :) thank you for your consistent encouragement. I hope you enjoyed reading my writing :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Today I am here to remind you to write for the Monday prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-486-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-test

I love the little naked mole rats. They have an exhibit of them and the San Diego Zoo and I visited often when I lived there.

I like your bad rep wildlife theme @nmcdougal94. Good idea and I think you might be able to turn that into a book after you get 10 on them done. Get it on Kindle and then you will have passive income forever.

Thank you for the prompt :)

They are definitely quite cute :) I've also seen them at zoos, I think they're pretty commonly kept there.

Huh. That's not something I've ever considered. It sounds like a great idea though. Do you know how I'd go about doing that?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I have published on amazon kindle and so have a few other freewriters. It is not hard. Get an author account there first. Then look at all their help files. I can help you when you are ready.

Cool, that's awesome. I will do that soon, and let you know. Do you want me to just comment here, or can I message you on some other platform?

Posted using Partiko Android

You can comment on any of my posts and I am in discord too with the same name. Your topic would be great for kids - kids kindle is hot now and the books are short :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58