You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Country-City Brain Drain - Freewrite Day 605 - Prompt: Moving to the City

in #freewrite5 years ago

Growing up in small midwest town just outside of a slightly larger midwest town I identify with what you have written. I have been to both Lincoln and Omaha which is nothing special but knowing the areas you mentioned helped me understand better. Well done my friend.

Sort:  

Didn't realize we had that in common - I'm often amazed at how many writers and movie stars started out in the Midwest. That Brain Drain is real. The country may be a great place to raise children and feed their imaginations and enrich their souls... but the cities lure them away. Thanks for the kind words, Ted-Chris-Jack'"whatever works" :) !


Just in case anyone wondered what I was on about that time

I grew up in rural Black Hawk, South Dakota just North of Rapid City and South of Sturgis. We were close to Wyoming,Montana and Nebraska.

Sturgis!!! Are you a Harley fan, or have you seen enough of those to last you a lifetime (as our offspring said once when we got held up in the traffic to the annual Sturgis celebration on our way to the Black Hills)? How fun to find a fellow 'rural origins' Steemian. :)

When a townjumps in size from 6,900 to 495,000 in a few days it is not looked upon as a happy occasion by the locals.

I did buy a leather jacket there one time during the rally when I was a youngster. The motorcycles were fun to look at but I never got the "Harley bug".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49