Weekend Freewrite 24/03/2018 - Teenage Blues

in #freewrite6 years ago



I had just handed in my major assignment to the English teacher. I know I failed and I'm certain my parents are aware of it as well!!
Despite this, Dad winked at me, like we're pals or something. Oh no - my life is a living hell. There's no other teenager on this planet that has to endure the dorky weirdness that is my family!
"You got your assignment finished and handed in on time. That's great Cindy, we're proud of you. You know that don't you?"
I just looked at him and sighed. I just nodded and slinked innocuously away to my bedroom. Hopefully I could disappear somewhere and just never come back. Mum added on "Don't forget we have your favorite for dinner dear: Dinosaur Chicken Nuggets"
They were my favorite when I was five. Please dear ground open up and swallow me whole.

Not long after, my best friend Mallory text me - asking me to meet her and her boyfriend down at the café where she works. She had almost finished her shift. I snuck out - just shouting to my Mum I was heading out just as I walked out the door. She's too slow to complain in time!
Mallory was waiting with me, but I realized I should have maybe not not bothered. She is always annoying when she's with her boyfriend and she was currently standing behind the counter, giving him a root-beer float kind of smile. I asked myself if I wanted to hang out with them or maybe go somewhere else. It was getting late. I wandered back out onto the street. Where do I go and what do I want to do now? I looked around. There was this guy sitting in his car just down the road from where I was standing. The car was a Ferrari and he was nice looking. I wasn't sure whether to talk to him but he beckoned to come over.

Mallory came out of the café. "What the hell are you doing? I was waiting for you?"
I turned and the cute guy had gone. My illusions were shattered. I felt horrible - like the time Leslie, the class bully, had called me a leech. Why couldn't I be sophisticated. Why couldn't I be cute and have a boyfriend like Mallory.
I told he about the guy. "You're 16 - he probably doesn't want to get picked up by the cops for being a pedophile or something. If you want a boyfriend, you want one from your own class. Just chill out." She smiled.
"I asked you to join us because Justin, from our Maths class, wanted to catch up with you. If you want a boyfriend sweetie, I would recommend he is born in the same decade. Come back to the café. I'll put some makeup on you and we can hang out."
I remembered my Mum - who had made dinner for me. "just one second"
I gave her a call. "Hi Mum. I'm sorry I ran out. I'm just with Mallory at her Café. Is it OK to hang out with her and some friends for awhile. I'll be home later and I'll eat the dino nuggets then."
"Don't worry about them sweetie. Your father ate them all - he loves them. You have a nice time and something to eat at the café. When you're finished just call again and he'll come and pick you up."
"Thanks Mum"
For what it's worth - I just added at the end. "By the way Mum - I appreciate you letting me go out like this."
"That's alright sweetie. We love you."
"Love you too." Maybe I wasn't lying - they're not so bad, after all.

Sort:  

Umm...I still like dino chicken nuggets! They just look so darned cool on a mashed potato mountain! This is such a sweet story and I like that she thought to call ahead to her mom and let her know that she was grateful and loved her!

Today's prompt is being performed by the Freewrite Deku Choir! (They've asked that the citizens of Freewrite please extinguish all flames while they sing as they are a flammable species!)

Freewrite Day 157 - before midnight

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
There's chances to WIN something great!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

That was really well writen @mysecondself01 and this reality is ahead of us when the kids get older, and we are no longer cool :o(

So enjoy it while we can, as all teenagers think their parents are squares!! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56