Weekend Freewrite 17/03/2018 - Exercise

in #freewrite6 years ago



Image Source: http://dreamstime.com

"How do you do it?" I asked her "How do you go on?"
She looked at me for a second - then just kept cycling. She's 90 years old but she is still insistent on exercising for over an hour a day. Other people have Grandmas who knit or bake cookies. Mine has turned into a gym junkie!!
"Nan - I don't want you having a cardiac while I'm here for a visit. Perhaps you might chill out and just finish up for now. You could perhaps continue later."
"OK Anne my dear. Just 5 more minutes. Then why don't you take a turn. It wouldn't hurt you!!"
Just because I'm a few kilos overweight and visited her with a box of chocolates. She takes great pleasure in putting others to shame.
I sighed and turned around to go into the bathroom. There was no way she was going to get me onto that thing - or to workout on any of the other gym equipment that she had sitting around in her tiny unit.

As I returned from the bathroom, I heard her talking to a guy:
"Best not flirt with disaster, let it decide to commit!"
The young guy with pecs that stood out (he couldn't have been more than 30 years old!) Just laughed and poked her in the side.
"You're a bundle of laughs Masie! I swear that's what I love about you..."
WHAT!!! Don't tell me that at the ripe old age of 90 my Nan has a toy boy? Nooo!!!!
I went into the room. "Nan - who is this?"
Both of them turned around and smiled.
"Let me introduce you to my personal trainer Anne. His name is Ben and he has done an amazing job of getting me, not just on my feet, but putting power into my body."
He smiled. At that instant - I fell in love. He was perfect. Short dark hair and lovely smile. A perfect, perfect body .
"If you like I'm happy to do joint sessions. Although I think you're at a different fitness level - he looked at my flabby body. "For a special deal we could do an introduction to fitness and training program."
I think I was supposed to be insulted by this, but who cares. He was allowed to say anything at that moment!!

Two weeks later and there I am, dressed in Velcro gym gear with Ben - running out on the road.
"Say 'Hi' to someone with a smile"
"Grrrrr" was the only sound that could come from my mouth.
I couldn't believe it! He had me out running on the streets in this gear!! It's cold for God's sake!! I should be home with a box a bikkies and watching the latest episode of NCIS!!
To add to all of that - my love illusions are shattered: Ben is gay and has a partner that he planning to get married to in the new year. Not fair! Then again, even if he was straight, I don't think I would be interested anymore. Gym and exercise is his life - I don't think I could handle that. He has become a good friend though.
Come on Anne - get that tush of yours working and lets get up that hill in double time. You will love me for it!"
"We'll see about that!!"
"Are you saying you can't? Maybe I'll say - if you beat me up the hill, we can turn around and start heading back."
"Arhh" I cry and sprint up the hill - overtaking him and even surprising myself.
"Yeah - now that's the girl I want to see more of!" He was smiling!!
He gave me a pat on the back - "you show me more of that inner lioness - let her out!"
He was right - it felt wonderful and liberating to be freed from this body!
"Thanks Ben! What now?"
"Back to the gym..."

Sort:  

Great job. I like the way you tackled these prompts. Keep them coming, one day I will join you.

How about next weekend? 😊 Come with me and we'll tackle the maze together: it's fun!

This was hilarious! I love how you blended the prompts! Go gramma!

Thanks for the compliment! 😊 PS - I'm not as fit as that granny now, let alone in 30 years lol!

Haha, amazing! I really burst in laughter here! :))

Aww thanks! 😉

Go grannie! I swear, some older relatives could cut ice with their comments... Ben may be a great friend and fitness trainer, but his last comment was heartless! LOL

I absolutely love what you came up with!! i was worried that the prompts might be to leading into one direction but you proved that a baseless worry!!

Haha - you thought I was going to knock the Granny off? Shame on you @mariannewest 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94