Freewrite Day 199 - " Gran's Homemade Jams"

in #freewrite6 years ago



Image source: https://www.colorbox.com

The two men in suits were standing in the hallway about to walk towards a meeting...
" Ok then Brandon - I think I'll be good to lead on this marketing promo. I've completed the stats and I can produce the goods. I know what these guys want."

Brandon, who was new to working in Marketing (he actually wanted to work in Finance but the jobs just weren't there) looked at him suspiciously. "Perhaps you could fill me in a bit on who these guys are and what they want Frank. No one actually told me. They just told me to help you." He didn't say that he was told to stop Frank from making an idiot of himself.
"We have a company who want to advertise their spread. I have completed the needs analysis and popularity survey and come up with "Gran's Homemade Jams"
"Ah - Frank. This spread is similar to Marmite. How could you apply a marketing campaign and a label that identifies Gran and her homemade Jams as something salty? You're lacking a bit of common sense here"
"Brandon - you just haven't worked in Marketing for very long. You'll learn. It's about meeting needs - researching statistics and then creating a desirable package based on the results. You'll learn."
"Frank - you need to go to a psych unit! You can label a marmite a Jam! Unless you are making it an obvious joke with the consumer and giving them a laugh so they buy it." But that was clearly not Frank's ploy. He was deadly serious.
Frank eyed him suspiciously "We'll run late if we don't head in now. Are you coming in now or not."
"Just a 2 second phone call and then absolutely."

Brandon walked a bit further down the corridor. He called the Exec who was head of Marketing. "Look, I've tried to stop Frank, but his presentation is a total failure and we've lost the account."
Brandon switched off his mobile and joined Frank. "OK buddy. It's your call and I'll just watch and learn from you. You're senior in the company so you obviously have a lot to share."
Frank smiled "Good - let's go then!"
Brandon followed his colleague into the boardroom. This was going to be a show!!!

Sort:  

Oh my, poor Frank. Seems he might want to start updating his CV... Marketing may not be the best profession for him, haha!

I've always been confused about marmite... sounds close to marmelade to me! I guess, I would've bought the spread in your story!
Here's the new prompt to craft a story: (on the off chance you might have missed it, though I doubt it!)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-200-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-party
Also, please take a look at this and join us:

https://steemit.com/contest/@freewritehouse/200-day-party-win-10-sbd-and-sbi-memberships

Yippee! It's party time - checking it out now!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62