Freewrite Day 168 - the Miner Bird

in #freewrite6 years ago



Image source: http://www.mdahlem.net

This story isn't fictional but true to life...
One morning about 7 years back, this cat of mine was dancing around a cupboard. "I have something to show you!!" was written all over her face. As I looked inside I freaked - the cat had dragged in one of the native birds from outside. There wasn't blood all over the place, but it was obvious one of the wings was injured. That cat of mine was in the bad books and was shut in one of the other bedrooms!

My friend I was sharing with and I wrapped this quiet, sweet little bird in a towel and popped her in a box. Taking her to the RSPCA (animal rescue) we asked if there was anything that could be done, but were told there wasn't.
The bird is a Noisy Miner. They are not the native to the area and are actually predatory to other birds that are native to the region. They will steal the other birds nests and food - so other native birds eventually die off.
This poor little one was going to have to be put down. Sad but necessary and I left them to it. Still after that I kept a close eye on this cat of mine, and she is so slow and gawky with birds I like to think that the bird was injured before she was brought inside. Anyway, it has never happened again...

Sort:  

This is a very natural thing for a cat to do. Our cat used to do this, and I felt awful for the poor birds, but they are hunters by nature... And when they bring the bird to you, they are offering it up to you as a gift as far as I know.. They are actually trying to be nice... Strange way of doing it in fairness, but that is in their nature to hunt..

Thanks for getting me to see her good side. She's 10 years old now and lazy as anything. She'd rather sit on the couch than go racing outside chasing birds and that's kinda how I like it :-)

Ha ha, she has done all her chasing, she just wants to chill out now, and have you run around for her! :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43