Freewrite Day 162 - the Day of Ash and Smoke

in #freewrite6 years ago



In 5 minutes I cannot describe or fill you in on the horror that was the Black Saturday Victorian Bushfires. But when I see the title "Ash" that is all that fills my mind. It is a day on February 7th 2009 that 173 people around areas in Victoria were killed and countless others lost their homes or were injured horrifically.

I used to work at the Burns ICU at the Alfred, but had left by that time. All I can say is: thank goodness. Friends who worked there told me how they were exhausted from working double shifts and dealing with people who had horrific burns or wounds. I wasn't working that day, and drove with my brother past a suburb near a bushfire (not one of the main ones). I remember seeing the smoke and saying how stupid someone was to be starting any sort of fire on such a hot day (it was 40 degrees celcius). We stayed well clear of it. I still worked in an ICU and looked after some of the other victims later on.

There were stories of people having to drive or run to escape the fires. Of the terror that was flung into people's hearts. There was a lot of heroicism as firefighters saved lives and bravely fought the fires. As people saved family and friends and cared for one another.

I understand that these sorts of atrocities happen often around the world, but anywhere around the world, a bushfire strikes fear, horror and tragedy to people and we have to help and support eachother through it. Not just as a community, but as a humanity.

I will leave it here - I am well past my 5 mins and have not written my funny little story. The areas around Melbourne and Victoria are now regenerated. They are no longer filled with ash, but are green once again and lovely to drive through. But it is a lesson to be learnt - to be prepared that this can happen. To prevent it if possible and have a plan in case a fire happens...

Sort:  

You really brought the tragedy home to me. I remember reading about this and being horrified, trying to imagine how people could be trapped in that way. I agree--it is madness to set a fire in those conditions. Was this caused by lightening or some other natural event, or was it truly caused by a foolish, careless individual?

There was a series of bushfires that all started on this day with very high winds and high temperatures combined. The causes included lightening, arson, power lines and some machinery. Those guilty of arson were dealt with severely!!

What a horrible thing to go through. Glad the place is regrowing even though for many, the memories will last a lifetime. Thank you for being one of the medical staff taking good care of them.

Thanks: my ICU didn't deal directly with burns or plastics patients- more those whose medical conditions were exacerbated and they ended up intubated. All the same - a difficult time for all...
Now when we drive up to the ranges for the day it is lovel and green. I'll get a picture and do a blog next time we go...

That was a horrible fire!! I remember seeing it on the news and it struck fear in my heart. We have had several big fires in the San Diego area as well where lives were lost - but nothing in comparison to that fire! And burns hurt so bad!!

There are fires (bad ones) that keep happening, and we have to keep an eye out and help each other as it occurs. We also have to prepare...

Sometimes stories like this have to be told. As horrible as they are. What story would you like to tell today?


Today's prompt is ready!

Serving2.JPG


Weekend Freewrite 3/31/2018- Single Prompt Option

Weekend Freewrite 3/31/2018 - Part 1 - The First Sentence


Stay up to date on everything #freewrite related. Follow...
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join the fun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45