Freewrite Day 161 - the Wedding Dress

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)



Image source: https://www.2013-weddinginvertation.blogspot.com

She was with her Mum when she saw it, her best friend also checking the dresses out.
"That's it ladies - that's the one!"
"You can't wear that Amelia! It's Yellow!!"
"I can see that - I'm not blind! It's the one I want. I'll try it on."
She got some help from the sales assistant, who had usually been selling the dress for other events in the past. But each to their own; and in this day and age wedding dresses were every color of the rainbow."
"I love it - it's me!"
She danced around, almost ready to break out into song.
"Why don't you want a dress in white, or in cream?"
"Mum - that's so boring! And it suppresses the individuality of the woman. I'm going to tell Frank to get a colored suit if he wants. Dress as he wants - be who he wants!"
The mother groaned. There would be a lot of explaining to do to the relatives. But then again - her daughter is right. Who cares? It's her day, let her and her new husband enjoy it.
"OK Amelia, you do look lovely in it. I'll get it for you. It's a present from your father and myself."
Her daughter gave her a massive hug "Oh thank you!!"
Amelia looked at her friend: "Uh oh - are you happy to get something that matches this. Or do want me to pay? What's the deal?"
Her friend laughed - "Don't you worry sales chick. I'm starting to like yellow myself. Find me something short and slinky that matches, that I can wear out other times and I'll take care of it."
"Short and slinky? Who do you have in mind?"
She just winked - there were lots of cousins in Frank's family to pick from...

Sort:  

Yes to yellow wedding dresses! 😉

I've heard sooo many stories about women fighting over color while dress shopping for a wedding! Yours was sweet and her friend's thought at the end had me grinning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66195.81
ETH 3505.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18