Freewrite Day 153 - the Speaker

in #freewrite6 years ago



Image Source: http://www.gadgetman.ie

The teenager was holed up in his room and his Mum, Lisa, didn't know how to get him out.
The dad came to talk to her: "This is ridiculous - it's been a couple of days. How does he cope?"
"He sneaks food in at night and sneaks to the loo when we're not around. Otherwise he's in there all the time."
"Why? We've done nothing wrong! There's been no fights!"
"I think it has to do with the speaker."
"What?"
"That plasma speaker that his friend gave to him a couple of weeks ago. I had a look in when I had the chance and I swear - he wasn't just listening to it. He was talking to it. Like a friend or mentor."
"That's crazy! It's just a machine he can hook up to his ipod for God's sake. It doesn't talk like one of those new speakers Amazon have put out. Why the hell does he talk to it?"
"I don't know - I don't have all the answers. Ask him!"
The son was poking his nose at the door: "I can hear every word you're saying you know."
His father turned on him. "Well, maybe you can explain then, why have you been holing up for 2 days in your room and having conversations with a piece of metal and plastic."
"I don't think you realize, I had a recorder with me and I was actually taping my life story - What I've done and what I plan to do. There is a bit of planning required before the execution - isn't that what you always tell me Dad?"
"Ah - yes. That's true."
"Well Dad. I don't plan to become an engineer as you have decided. I plan to become a musician and make techno music. I'm heading out now. Why don't you play back what I've taped on the speaker there and you might get an idea of who I really am."

He walked out. The Dad just walked out as well without even bothering but Lisa went into his room. Urgh - massive cleanup required!! She sat down next to the speaker and on the recorder hooked up she pressed "play" That plasma ball was actually addictive - it was like she was looking into her son's mind for the first time...

Sort:  

Ooh this is good stuff! I really like your twist. Kids, they do listen and sometimes really surprise us with their interpretation of parental wishes.

Thanks :-) Oh boy; the fun and games I have to look forward to...

This is a really great little story! I especially liked the line

having conversations with a piece of metal and plastic."

That may be safer than conversations with some people! :)

That's a cool speaker, I might have to get one. Also, I loved your story. Great job. 😉

Thanks @wonderwop I don't know where they sell them, but if I see them I'll let you know... :)

This is nice. I like how you twisted it around. Now I want to hear his life story. BTW, here is today's prompt about nothing. I already took it on and I invite you to do so too: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-154-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-nothing

This is beautiful!!!

Aww - thanks...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58