Free Write Saturday prompt Big Wave

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Saturday prompt Big Wave by @mariannewest

My husband always says if you sink a boat it will be a sequence of events. we did not sink this day but it is the closest we ever came to sinking. Me my Son and my husband were fishing in Salerno, it is a town 60 miles away. We fished all day and coming back in Salerno Inlet. There are two big rock piles you have to go between when leaving the ocean to the inlet. We were almost to the rock piles when a big sailfish boat came up behind us, it was going faster than we were and they wanted to pass us. The inlet was not rough and my husband moved closer to one of the rock piles so they could pass. A rogue wave came out of nowhere, just as this big wave got to us our engine died. My husband was trying to get it restarted but it would not turn on. My Son and I were sitting in the stern when the wave picked us up, I was looking straight down and my husband, the boat looked like it was standing up with the bow pointed down. I looked at my Son and told him we just lost this boat. My husband told me he was trying to decide which way he wanted the boat to go, end over end or did he want it to roll sideways. He chose sideways and fully expected it to roll over sideways. I know my husband is very skilled at running a boat but I will go to my grave believing he had help that day. It was like God took his hand and slid the boat sideways, not rolling over sideways but it slid across the water and stopped where it was calm. My Son picked up a pole and went to fishing I could not do anything because my hands shook for a good 45 minutes. We watched and there was never another big wave. My husband figured out that our fuel pump went out and that is why the engine died. He had a squeeze bulb on the boat and hooked it up to the engine and my Son pumped on it to keep the fuel going to the engine and we made it to the ramp. At the ramp there was a guy drinking a beer and I asked if he had one he would sell me, I gave him 5 dollars and chugged that sucker down.

Today I caught 26 trout that weighed 43 pounds and 1 redfish

IMG_20190615_173806.jpgIMG_20190615_173712.jpg

Sort:  

That was a hair-raising experience @myjob. Thanks to the powers that be that you were all safe. 🙏

@redheadpei Amen, it was scary for sure.

Wow....!!!!! 😯😟
@myjob
I'm soooo truly glad everything turned out alright...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!❤.
I would have definitely needed a drink to calm my nerves after that. More like a couple of drinks. 🍺🍺.
If I was the guy on the ramp and you had just told me about your close call I would have given you all of my alcoholic beverages for free..
I'm pleased you had a good fish catch.
:)

@annephilbrick Thank you, I did not tell the guy why I wanted the beer. when I was writing about it I could still feel the boat slide sideways, I have never had a boat do that, we expected it to roll over.

Bad luck and lots of luck... That wave had nothing to do with that boat that passed by? They did not stop, ask, aaw what happened?

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32