Free Write prompt In The Box

in #freewrite5 years ago


This is my post for #freewrite prompt In The Box
Any time you think you've got this, it's in the box. Life has a way of saying, hold on girl you don't have it. I lived for 20 odd years in an old Florida style home, then we had back to back hurricanes, the first one did not do any damage, but the second one took the roof. We were inside trying to save what we could, our bedroom was the only dry room so everything went in there. after the storm ended we had no electric and in three days the mold started growing. My husband is allergic to it so we set a tent up in the back yard. Then we had bad weather and everything in the tent got wet. My husband told me he did not care how I did it but get the computer out of the house and set it up in the tent so he could go online and find us a camper to live in. We never lost phone service, we had dial up internet, and had a generator. He found a camper and drove three hours to buy it. We lived in the camper for 18 months while we stripped our house down to the studs and rebuilt it ourselves. I got the house that I had always dreamed it could be. I Loved it, I had it in the box. We lived in it for six months, I had just got all our belongings out of storage, and we get a letter from the county, they are taking our home. The home we worked for and had paid off, the home we just rebuilt, the home we raised our kids in, buried our dogs in the yard, the home we loved. Eminent domain they called it, no talking about it, it was we are taking your home. And they did. When we found the place we were going to move to we asked if we could move the house, even checked into the cost, they said no. Then they tore it down. I like where I am living now, but my house would have been wonderful here. I will never again think I got this, it's in the box.

Sort:  

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

You're welcome @myjob
Feel free to vote our witness to support us. You will get one more badge and more powerful votes from us on your posts.

Hello.. :D
@myjob
Wow. 😥
You both have been through some very tough times.. Surviving hurricanes and starting over to then being forced out of your home by Eminent domain.
You and your husband are a strong amazing team..❤ folks.

@annephilbrick thank you, your words really touched me. I could write a book on the hard times we have been through, the only thing that stays is we have each other and that is good.

Hello... !!!
@myjob
Absolutely
❤ "we have each other and that is good "
😘

Stupid government taking people's homes! They do the same here! They go one day and say you have to leave cause we're gonna rebuild this hole section and if you don't go out we will take you out! People is force to sell to the government their home at very cheap price. It hurts to see the place you've been living for many years completely destroyed to build another road or another shopping mall. It pisses me so much!

@blacklux that is what they did to us, we had no choice but to sell to them. But where our house was has grown so fast that we are glad we no longer live there and are happy where we are now. It would be the icing on the cake if I could have my house on this land. BUT can't look back, just forward.

A modern horror story! The dogs buried in the yard really got to me - I'll be having this issue myself soon, only it's cats, chickens, hamsters and lizards buried here, not dogs. I hope you do one day feel settled enough to also feel safe.

Congrats on your freewritehouse adoption! These guys are the BEST.

@owasco I hope you are just moving and not government taking your home. we are happy at our new place. Thank you for the congrats.

I heard more stories of government and cities taking your house... And the people still pay for the loan and have nothing. I wonder why you were not able to take the house with you. It was your property and I assume all they wanted was the land?

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty I do not know why they would not let us take the house, or why they tore it down. It is senseless to me. I hope they had the since to take the new kitchen cabinets and new A/C unit out of it. I loved the remodel we never had a air conditioner in it and had central air/heat put in. Our house was paid off, so we did not have a loan to pay.

It was the only luck you had no loan but still... What a waste!

Posted using Partiko Android

That is such a sad story!! I am happy that you like where you live now - but having lost a home, rebuild it and then, just losing it again is terrible!!

I hope that it will cheer you up that you have been adopted by the Freewrite House :)

https://steemit.com/adoptme/@freewritehouse/4jpg8a-you-got-adopted

@freewrithouse Thank you for your kind words and adopting me. We are happy to live where we are now.

I'm sorry for what happened to you, but the grace of God does not leave you. something better put in your way and make a happy home. The present is the only thing we can transform. #freewritehouse are part of the heart of steemit, I'm in love with this community.

@isgledysduarte Thank you for your kind words. When something like that happens you can not see the good but if that did not happen we would not have the place to live that we have now, I still miss my house but I try not to dwell on it.

Yikes! That is such a frustrating story! You have been through so much. I am very sad about the unfair ending of your wonderful home.

@scribblingramma yes it was a bad time but sometimes good comes from bad, I love where we now live but still miss my house.

You got me hooked at the start. I feel for you and your family to go through the hurricane and then rebuild to have it taken away.
So true we never know if “it’s in the box!.”
Congrats on the Free Write House adopt. 😊

@redheadpei Thank you, it was a bad time in life, but something good came from it, I love where I live now. still wish I had my house here but can't have everything.

Great to know you love where you live now. Being happy in the presence is the most important thing, @myjob. 💕

@reheadpei yes it is true. can not dwell on the past.

Oh! This is so sad, @myjob. Government is not our friend for sure.

I am the Sunday reminder person and so late! So I am hunting the people who wrote the Sunday freewrite and none since. This is you, and so here is today's:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-543-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-born

Hope to see you there :)

@fitinfun thank you, no government is not my friend for sure.

Uncle Bruni is happy you're safe now. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

@wonderwop thank you Uncle Bruni

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55