Day 725: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: pecan

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Tuesday prompt Pecan by @mariannewest

25 years ago my Mother in Law stopped on the side of the road under some pecan trees and gathered the nuts. She planted some of the pecans and when they got 3 feet tall she gave me two of the trees. I do not know what happened but one died. The other one is still alive. When we moved I brought it with me but I could not figure where I wanted to plant it so I put it still in the pot on the edge of our driveway, it was around 6 feet tall. Fast forward 10 years and it decided if I was not going to plant it, it would plant itself.

IMG_20191015_190817.jpg

Since its "planting" it has now grown to 40 feet, I could not get it all in the picture

IMG_20191015_190827.jpg

This was the first year I got pecans from it, but it was back when we were getting loads of rain and they fell to early. I picked some up and put in this bag hoping they would go ahead and ripen but they are mushy. I am hoping next year things will go right for them. They are supposed to come out of the husk and fall looking like the ones you would buy, google says if they stay to wet they will fall with the husk still on, which is what mine did.

IMG_20191015_190921.jpg

Today my husband went to Grant, he caught 7 pounds of pompano. I went back up the creek and fished 7 anchorings and never caught one. I then came out to the Indian River and fished Cat Island, I caught one permit which I threw back. Then I ran to Long Point and back in the Bean Field, then to Pepper Cove, I anchored there because I was tired of running. Sat there for 30 minutes only caught catfish. Then I ran to Mullet Creek saw nothing. Ran the clam leases, nothing. I went back to the west shore and stopped on Barefoot Bay Island, I saw one boil off my boat but caught nothing. I came back south going around all the islands and back up the creek, I made one anchoring, stayed 30 minutes for nothing. It is now 3:30 and I am tired, I go to the ramp.

This morning the tree I took the picture of yesterday was filled with buzzards and one Ironhead

IMG_20191015_075717.jpg

Sort:  

That sure is one determined tree. With me being a cat, I love the name "Cat Island." I hope you don't come home empty-handed again today. : )

Resident cat here, wishing you a big catch today. Here is today's new prompt.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-726-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-humming-bird-flower

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite.

@whatisnew thank you for the prompt and wishing me better luck today, I did do better but not enough to pay any bills. I caught 3 which is better than zero.

Yet another interesting story of your life, @myjob. I am so glad you freewrite with us!

@tipu curate 2

@fitinfun thank you for reading, I never thought so many people would find what I do to be interesting. I am happy to share.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

That's so funny the tree survived, busted out of its pot, and here it still is today. There's something you're supposed to do to cure the nuts, spread them out on a screen and let them dry for a couple weeks I think. I hope you get some next year, I love pecans. yum

@owasco we looked it up and the internet said if they get to much rain they will fall to early, it says when they fall they should look like the ones in the stores not still in the husk, ours are still in the husk, I have them hanging in an onion sack but when I bust one open they are mushy

ah. too bad. I love pecans and imagine fresher ones are divine. next year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60257.31
ETH 2427.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44