Day 724: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: bacteria

in #freewrite5 years ago

This my post for #freewrite prompt bacteria by @mariannewest

The only thing I like about winter is that the water in the river will cool down and we have less chance of catching necrotizing fasciitis. Necrotizing fasciitis is also called Flesh-eating bacteria, my husband says we must have an immunity to it because we spend so much time on the river and getting all kinds of cuts and fish fins stuck in us. But I worry about every little infection.

One of our fisherman friends contacted the flesh-eating bacteria over a year ago. He came close to losing his life, they told him of the people who get it one out of every four will live. I think it was August of 2018 when he got it and he is still in the rehab place, that is where you go when you are no longer sick enough to stay in the hospital but to sick to go home. He was pulling his boat out at the Grant boat ramp and slipped cutting his knee on the ramp. It got an infection in it but not having insurance he did not want to go to the Dr. One of his friends came to visit one day and saw his knee the guy told him to get in his car he was taking him to the ER. That is when he found out what he had and it had already spread to his organs the Dr told him he had a 20% chance he will make it.

Neither of us could find anything to catch today and at noon my husband called me to say "this is stupid, I am going home to work on my trailer lights". We both put our boats in at a ramp up the Sebastian river, we call it the creek. It is a freshwater river that flows into the Indian River Lagoon. About an hour later my husband sent me a text which started with hahaha, he caught a pompano up the creek. Me being sarcastic said good for you. Fifteen minutes later he says I got another one. I did not need to hear anymore. I sent him a text telling him he was going to have company and I opened my motor up as fast as I felt safe. We did not have a big catch but together we had 28 pounds, which makes a day's pay.

On my way to the boat ramp, I saw this awesome tree and it made me turn around to take its picture, the picture does not do it justice.

IMG_20191014_153403.jpg

This is the other side of the tree, there is Spanish moss hanging on the mangroves. I do not think I have ever seen it on them, it is usually on oaks.

IMG_20191014_153524.jpg

Having to drive across town to the fish house and when I got there someone was backed in the only unloading spot then a truck pulled up with fish from down south to unload when it was my turn to unload I was in a hurry so the truck driver could unload so I did not take the time to snap a picture.

I took this picture on my way out this mourning

IMG_20191013_074609.jpg

Sort:  

😊
@myjob
That flesh eating bacteria (necrotizing fasciitis) sounds so most evil and horrible. I can totally understand why you are concerned about infections..!!!!!
I hope the pompano fishing gets better. I'm glad you both were able to make a days pay..!!!
Wow..... !!! The tree with the Spanish moss hanging on it. It's very spooky looking..😱.!!!!

@annephilbrick the flesh-eating bacteria is the badass of all infections, I hope I or my husband never get it. Yes the tree looks like one from a scary movie but it spoke to me and I think I am in love with it. Fishing will get better, it is still early in the season.

HONEY! And lavender essential oil. Keep them handy! I'll look it up tomorrow, but these are my first suggestions.

@owasco I have the jar of raw honey, but I am good at not getting an infection so I can use it. This is the first time I heard of lavender essential oil, do you use it with the honey?

No just drip the lavender right on any cut - keep it handy, with your fishing gear. It's a fairly inexpensive oil as far as essential oils go, and a small bottle goes a long way. Won't hurt, use it undiluted. REALLY good for kitchen burns too. I;d use the lavender immediately and a few more times in the first twelve hours. If infection sets in try honey, but if that doesn't do it right away, get some help. That bacteria is really bad!

Uhm... There are people who are allergic to lavender. Ever been on the "lavender island".. If I remember it well it's in Italy or perhaps Spain. The air of lavender growing there (plus they make oil etc out of it) already did make me sick. Still have some lavender in my garden (the wolves kill it by rolling over). I like the smell but as oil it is a big no. Pity enough.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes a LOT of people are allergic to lavender. Sorry to hear you are one of them, it's a great oil for everyday cuts and burns. It must be a very hard thing to be allergic too because it's used so much in perfumes deodorants and scents.

I do not use all those things you mention. Didn't know so many are allergic to it. 🤔 I wonder what causes it.
Being allergic to nature is a problem for sure.
Happy day, thanks for responding. 💕

@owasco thank you, I have a bottle of lavender oil I will try it, and I have aloe that I use for burns even sunburn. yes, that bacteria is right out of horror books.

If you are good in not getting infections you better use nothing. You might mess up your own good bacteria to do their job. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty I agree with that and I only use something when the infection looks like it is going to get bad and I stop when seeing signs of healing.

I hope you won't have bad infections. I had many but learned nothing is the best so is no bandage. Even never had a tetanus injection. Better not ask who bit m, ripped me open, etc. I assume I had tetanus or am immune...the bacteria don't like me. 🔆💕

@wakeupkitty I have had tetanus shots the last one I got my hand cut up pretty bad by a table saw and they said I needed it.

They always say you needed but I never see a doctor for cuts, I even did not as a dog attacked me on the street and ripped me open from head till toe. I went home and took care of myself.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you

It sounds like a nasty disease. Is this typical in combination with water? My connection is slow so I could not find it back.
Big chance you both are immune. I hope so. Stay healthy and good you had your paycheck after all.
Happy Tuesday. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty yes it is in the water but only when the water gets hot and no tide like it gets stagnant, that is when the bacterias thrive.

Sounds a bit like what we have here in ponts etc...you get seriously ill,not allowed to swim, get into the water... Just that flesh eater is not in it I think. 🤔 Or perhaps it is?

@wakeupkitty we have some kind of bug or bacteria that gets in ponds and if it gets in you it kills, the last person that I heard of that got it was a 9 year old boy, the ponds with flow wells running into them is safe but water just sitting there is bad

Yes that is here too. High temp and sitting water. I cannot remember this from the time I was a kid..🤔

Happy Thursday. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

The flesh eating bacteria is horrid. I have heard some terrible stories about what happens to people who get it.

Those first two tree looks like something out of a horror movie with the moss hanging off them, They would be good for #treetuesday Hosted by @old-guy-photos.

I’m glad you and Hubby caught some fish for the day. 💕

@redheadpei this morning there were buzzards on it I will post them for tree Tuesday, thank you

flesh eating bacteria are scary!! Hope that you will stay safe and going to get treatment early if it ever comes your way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87