Who Ordered The Coffee? (5 minute freewrite tale)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Prompt: coffee provided by @mariannewest

Link to 5 Minute Freewrite Task

Pre-story waffle

Yesterday, I mentioned that my main genre was comedy. But today, I realised that when I first started writing these stories, there was no specific genre. It was a mixed bag. Some of my earlier stories were of intrigue, mystery or magic.

Two days after the coffee prompt was given, I have an idea for this story. I hope you enjoy.

690422_L.jpg

Who Ordered The Coffee?

Mrs Jones walks into her cafe. The shop has already been opened by her new young assistant, Sally. It is a small coffee shop with just five tables.

You could say that it was small and cosy. But, at this time of the year, on a cold January morning, it is empty.

However, there is a full cup of coffee on the table by the window.

“Who's coffee is that?” asked Mrs Jones, politely to Sally.

Sally has not been working there very long but Mrs Jones is very happy to have a trusted employee. It feels like she has worked there for much longer.

“The coffee was ordered by a fine distinguished gentleman, Mrs Jones. He must have gone to the washroom.”

Mrs Jones sits down for a moment.

“Is there anything wrong, Mrs Jones?”

“No, my dear. I'm just remembering my husband. He used to drink coffee at that table. Always a black coffee.”

Mr Jones had passed on nearly a year ago. He lived well, but the curtain call comes to us all one day.

“I have a picture of him. I'll just go and get it.”

As Mrs Jones was about to get the picture, the door to the washroom opens. Sally and Mrs Jones are waiting for the distinguished gentleman. But there is nobody.

“It must be the wind,” said Sally.

“If that is the case, who ordered the coffee?” asked Mrs Jones.

There is silence for a few seconds.

“Do you have that picture of your husband?” asked Sally.

Mrs Jones finds the picture and shows it to Sally.

“Oh yes,” said Mrs Jones. “Here it is.”

This time, it is Sally who feels the need to sit down for a moment.

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

I hope you enjoyed the story.

Tomorrow, I will record at least one story and it will probably be this one. I'm going to try a different device. I've noticed that the volume on the ones I've recorded are not that high.

Thank you @ameliabartlett for the freewrite banner.

Pictures copyright free from Pixabay

Sort:  

Well done!!! And yes, you have been writing all kinds of stories!! and many put the freewriters in peril!!! 😉

....and one of the stories of peril has been recorded. It will be released in the next day or two.
😀

Hey nobody ordered me, I came of my own free will. Although someone should point out to @mariannewest she spelt c0ff33a wrong 😉

Super story, quite mysterious and I like the ending - perfectly explains the story without actually saying anything - perfect.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank you. I will be making a video recording of the story tomorrow. Hopefully I'll do it in one or two takes. It is a lot of fun, but I'm still learning.
:-)

Time to start writing on the new prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-291-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-helpless

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mr-neil from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54