We Have A Mouse In The House (Story)

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

"Did you see it?"

Behind the TV cabinet. I think we have a mouse.

The question is, how do we get rid of it? I'm thinking of a Tom and Jerry style mouse trap.

"I'm sorry, you're not meant to do that these days," said the shop assistant. "You have to be humane."

"I suppose that's a good thing,' I replied.

"Yes. Here is a trap. You put chocolate here….."

I interrupted.

"Not cheese then,"

"Listen," he replied. "Mouse like chocolate. Put the chocolate here and then set the trap like so. The mouse will be trapped but not at all hurt. Then take it somewhere far away and let it out again."

"Thank you," I said. "I'll try not to eat the chocolate beforehand."

"Don't," said the shop assistant. "You need to catch the mouse."

"I'll buy myself an extra bar," I said.

"You love chocolate then," he remarked.

"I do," I replied. "I love chocolate."

"Like the mouse. That's good, but be careful."

"Why do I need to be careful," I asked.

"In case anyone sets a trap for you."

"Why would they do that?"

"Because, they might be fed up with you crawling behind their telly."

"I'm a human," I said. "I'm not going to crawl behind a telly."

"I've come across stranger things," said the shop assistant. "Have a nice day."

On the way home, I pass the chocolate shop. I just have to walk in, anyway, I need some chocolate for our house guest

However, when I walked into the shop, all of the shelves were empty. No chocolate. However, I could still smell it.

"What happened to all your chocolate?" I asked.

"I have a surprise for you."

The chocolate shop man opened a secret door which led to a passage. I could see chocolate towards the end.

"Do you fancy a walk?"

"Yes, I do."

I walked down the passage towards the chocolate. There was some nice music playing. All seemed good, until, bang. A shutter coming down behind me. I was trapped.

"What is happening?" I shouted.

I didn't expect to get a reply, but I did; it sounded like it was coming from the man in the pet shop.

"Just be thankful, we have to be humane these days."

2554_M.jpg

Thank you for reading.

Link to task:

Day 665: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: house guest

Sort:  

Wow this story really made me smile @mr-neil, watch out for chocolate it might be a trap, it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 3 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in todays Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

Thank you so much for your response and for featuring me in the daily report. Not bad for a story I wrote right before bedtime.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @mr-neil, and thank you for creating awesome content.

A clever little story...I'd crawl behind anyone's TV if there was chocolate!

Maybe....if there was no other chocolate in the house. You may end up in the middle of a field.

Posted using Partiko Android

Little children rear mouse for amusement and most time meat here.

Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite.

Pick this, just one, write
Enjoy the five minutes run, dive
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-8-17-2019-single-prompt-option
....
A 3-1 prompt for the boss
Write, write, earn without flux
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-8-17-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Do have a beautiful and blessed week ahead.

Hello @mr-neil, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much for your support.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60869.98
ETH 2713.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45