The Slice Of Bread Who Wanted To Be Warmed Up (story)

in #freewrite5 years ago

"I'm too cold," said Barry the bread. "I really need to be warmed up. I wish I had legs."

There was a teapot just centimetres away. Barry thought to himself, "If I could just reach over to the teapot, maybe I can make a wish."

Barry couldn't reach the teapot.

Sally the sugar was at hand to give advice to Barry.

"I'm all over the place," said Sally. "Luckily, this jar keeps me and my granules together."

"I'm cold," said Barry. "I would like to warm up."

"Be careful what you wish for," said Sally. "Someone might come along and put you in the toaster."

"That would be heaven," said Barry.

"Yes, bread heaven, after you've been spread with butter….and eaten."

Barry gulped. He realised that he will probably be the next piece of toast for the giant who keeps coming into the kitchen.

"Hello Sally."

"Who was that?" said Sally.

"Me. I'm Tommy the tea. I think we're about to share that cup over there."

"We've only just met," said Sally.

"It makes no difference how long we've known each other," said Tommy. "The giant loves tea."

Now Sally the sugar is also nervous.

"What will happen to us when we have been eaten?" asked Barry. "Will we be reincarnated?"

"We'll be gone," said Tommy.

.

"Where?" asked Sally the sugar.

"Maybe we'll all come back as one of those giants," said Barry.

"What's that hissing sound?" asked Sally.

"I don't want to be consumed by a giant," said Tommy.

"That doesn't answer my question," said Sally

"The gas has been left on," said Tommy.

"Oh no, what do we do?" asked Barry.

"We wait for a spark," Tommy replied.

zdi1a5oeta.jpg

A freewrite exercise with prompts delivered by @mariannewest

..... except I didn't use a prompt because it is my first story for a few weeks and just wanted to get back into the groove

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67