The Robot's Big Secret

in #freewrite5 years ago

I can't help but write another story about Robot 1 and Robot 2. They have proper names, but they are not revealed. This takes away any opportunity for someone to sue me. It nearly happened once.

"Do you have a double life?" asked Robot 1.

"No," replied Robot 2. "I am a robot. I'm pretty straightforward."

"Are you sure?" asked Robot 1. "Are there no skeletons in the cupboard?'

"No," said Robot 2. "Just a few clothes."

Robot 1 doesn't want to respond and therefore pauses.

"I'm joking," said Robot 2. "I know what you are asking me."

"So then, do you?" asked Robot 1 again. "Do you have any skeletons in the closet?"

"Maybe, but nothing major. It's not going to make the front pages of the papers. How about you?"

"I've robbed a bank," said Robot 1.

"I thought you were joking about that," said Robot 2.

"I've only done it once or twice."

"Once or twice? Could you be more precise?"

"Yes," said Robot 1. "I've robbed 5 banks."

"Sounds a bit prolific," remarked Robot 2.

"Prolific in my success rate," said Robot 1.

"It must be 100%, otherwise you'd be in prison."

"You'd think that."

"Did you get caught?" asked Robot 2.

"Yes, I got caught."

"But you are not in prison."

"I cut a deal."

"Are you planning another raid?" asked Robot 2.

"No, I was lucky to get away with it last time. I've decided to give it up and lead a straight life."

"Good for you," said Robot 2. "Crime doesn't really pay."

"You're wrong," said Robot 1. "It paid quite handsomely. However, I will quit while I'm ahead."

"It goes to show, we think we know someone; but it turns out that we didn't really know them at all "

"Yes," said Robot 1. "You really didn't know me like you thought you did."

"Or is it the other way around?" asked Robot 2.

"I'm not sure what you mean."

"Perhaps it is you that didn't really know me," said Robot 2.

They both pause before Robot 2 continues.

"Put your hands in the air. You're under arrest; and this time you won't be cutting any deal."

s8sy7y.jpg

Written as a freewrite, prompt provided by @mariannewest

Sort:  

Thank you for reading. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42