The Hair Of The Dog (5 Minute Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Prompt: Dog Hair

Today I listened to a brilliant piece of music, it was called Anarchy and Alchemy by a band called Echobelly. It wasn’t loud punk music. It was nice haunting music for the older anarchist. I do like my anarchy; always have.

I have anarchy on the brain, anarchy to everything. I think to myself, where can I cause anarchy? At what platform? I could be a freewrite anarchist and not follow the prompt. But that would be wrong. This group is very kind and supportive.

But then comes the prompt, Dog Hair. I don’t have very nice things to say about dogs. So I shall become the anarchist of freewrite. Am I allowed? Yes, I am allowed because I am an anarchist.

I’m not going to talk about dog hair. Not since that guy across the road used to get the dog to chew the football that went into his garden. I guess he didn’t like children and thought we should be hanging around street corners instead making molotov cocktails instead.

I’ll talk about getting drunk, because I love to drink too much. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t really cause trouble, I just like to see bands and chill with my friends. We get silly and encourage each other to drink more and stay up until we cannot drink anymore.

The next exercise is the best. We go to the pub again the next day to watch a football match. We order another drink, another nice pint of beer. That one drink will get rid of the hangover and will rekindle that feeling of drunk quickly. It is the beautiful pint. There is a name for such an exercise.

It is known, my friends, as the ‘Hair of the Dog.’

So, I am not the freewrite anarchist after all.

dog-613927_1920.jpg
Image from Pixabay


Freewriting Task which is so fun. go to this link and have a go. Everyone here is supportive and nice.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-75-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-dog-hair

Task set by @mariannewest

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing a wonderful story about 'Hair of the Dog.'

Thank you :-) Glad you enjoyed

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mr-neil to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Yes, you're allowed. It's a freewrite after all. (But then again, if you don't, why bother?)
Why does every neighborhood have 1 guy who lets his dog eat whatever comes onto his property? Is there a rule written somewhere?

He's a grumpy old man

From a certain point of view, it was still about The Hair Of The Dog. I think with freewrite you can go off topic but bring yourself back to the prompt. One of my early freewrites was a battle to stay on track. Sometimes, the best time to do a freewrite is when you're not in the right mood. Hey, I'm learning.

I was teasing you. Sorry if it came across otherwise. There's not much in the way of rules for the freewrites and you're doing a fabulous job going with the flow. Actually, I enjoyed the 2 ways you incorporated 'dog hair' into the post.

It's cool, I didn't take any offence. Sorry too, if I implied that I did. :-D I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Standing in for Marianne......Nice one, if a tad anarchistic!
Here's the link to today's prompt
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-76-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-ducks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63079.17
ETH 3466.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51