The Atlas Part 6: Ruby Murray (5 Minute Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Prompt: curry

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-176-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-curry

The story.

Thomas has an Atlas that was given to him in Santa's grotto, when he was a boy.

10 years later, he was told that he could put his finger on a place that he would like to go, and believe.

A young lady called Maria also has an Atlas, but they must experience “lesson two” separately.

Part 5
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mr-neil/the-atlas-part-5-the-next-lesson

thai-cuisine-590018_1920.jpg

Part 6: Ruby Murray

This is all very exciting, but what is lesson two?

Thomas decides to order a curry. He doesn't need an Atlas for this. There is a great restaurant around the corner. He'll get the curry delivered.

Whilst he is waiting, he will reflect on lesson two. That lesson will be complete when he no longer needs the Atlas.

Does this mean that this phase would come to an end? Is Nick really Santa Claus? Is he looking for a successor?

The curry arrives. He puts sets himself up and puts the TV on. Tonight is movie night.

“Let's find a movie,” he thinks to himself. “Lots of Christmas films, in the summer.”

“That is correct,” says a voice from the TV. “Go and have fun with the Atlas. I challenge you to go to all the continents by the end of the week.”

“Is that you, Nick?” asked Thomas.

“It could be,” said the voice.

“Can't I have my Ruby first?” asked Thomas

“What is that?” asked Nick.

“A Ruby Murray; a curry.”

“I'm confused,” said Nick.

“So, what is lesson two about?” asked Thomas.

“Why are you asking me? Maria told you all that you need.”

Nick had one more question.

“Where are you going first?”

“That is a good question. Where are we all going?”

The End but not The End.

Thank you for everyone who has commented on previous episodes. I love this story, but I'm missing writing my daily one off freewrites.

So, I will decide what to do.

I have various options. One is to write it outside the prompts during the summer (when I have more time).

I have many ideas on how the story could go, including the dark part and the ending.

I have another option, but I'm not sharing that one yet.

Let's see, one way or another, the story will be kept alive.

Thank you again. It was some of the comments that helped create some ideas.

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

Thank you @ameliabartlett for the freewrite banner.

Sort:  

I like how Nick pops in and out...you never know when to expect him. And I am so happy to hear that the story will be kept alive, one way or the other. : )

Thank you, yes, I have a busy couple of weeks ahead of me. Hopefully things can settle and I can put some time into it. The reaction from everyone has been very positive. I love this story too. :-)

I'm happy that you continued the story and really look forward to what is in store for Thomas! Maybe he can get his curry to go?

Some of the young gremlins of the town of Freewrite have been kind enough to volunteer to deliver today's prompts! Please be advised, they have silly string and have eaten their way through a basket of Pixie Stix.

Weekend Freewrite 4/14/18 - Single Prompt Option

Weekend Freewrite 4/14/18 - Part 1 - The First Sentence

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hello @mr-neil, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much, this story will continue as a series. Thank you for your vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36