A Story About A Test

in #freewrite6 years ago

“45 percent.”

“45 percent? Is that all? How did I get 45 percent?”

Beep beep beep.

The alarm goes off.

“I must have been dreaming. Today I get my test results. I hope I get more than 45 percent.”

The phone starts to ring.

“That is very early.”

I run down the stairs and pick up the phone.

“Hello, we have your test results.”

“Tell me,” I said.

“90 percent.”

“Fantastic,” I shouted.

“Just one problem.”

“What's the problem?” I asked.

“You're dreaming again, wake up.”

I wake up. What are these dreams trying to tell me? Will I get 45 percent? Will I get 90 percent? Will I dream again?”

The phone rings again. I run to the phone and pick it up.

“Am I dreaming?” I asked.

“Yes.”

I wake up again. These dreams are strange. I may walk to the school. That way I know that the result is genuine.

As I am about to leave, the phone rings.

“Dreaming?”

“Yes.”

I wake up again. How can I break this impasse?

The phone rings again

“Hello, how do I break the impasse?” I ask.

“Stop worrying about your test result.”

“But it is important,” I replied. “It could change my life.”

“It won't change your life.”

“How do you know that?” I asked.

“Because you never learn."

"What makes you say that?" I asked.

"You're dreaming again."

I picked up the results three days later.

image

Thank you for reading.

Task set by @mariannewest

Link to task

image

Sort:  

You have no idea how much I Love this story!
The dream. Dreaming that it's only a dream. The ol' "Ha! I dreamed this so many times, and now it's not a dream, it's happening for real" - only to wake up and find it's - you guessed it - A DREAM!
You totally captured this thing that haunts me and I never talk about it but you did so now I feel kinda liberated and totally grateful to you for daring to describe this weird dream thing. :) (And if nobody else has any idea what it's like, don't bother telling me so.)
Thank you @mr-neil! This fantastic! Make sure I remember to recommend it in the Tuesay Nominate a Favorite Freewrite post

Thank you, it is amazing how a freewrite story can turn out when all you've got in you head is the first line. Then the dream sequence just continued. The most fun write I've done for a long time.

And here again we see the beauty of the freewrite - the surprises! The stories and characters that unfold. I love the recurring dream theme and the ever-thinning divide between dreaming and waking. You capture it well.

Mr.Neil,

Your freewrite is pulchrituDREAMinous!!!

Wonderful piece of imagination.

Mr. Neil, can you please rename your freewrite as "A Story About DREAMS" 🙂! LOL!!

What more can I say?

Thank you so much, I'm glad you like the story. I'm not changing the title though. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79