#DailyFreeWriteChallenge: Day 117 - Church

in #freewrite6 years ago

When I was younger my family went to Church every Sunday. We bounced around from a couple of different churches until we landed at one we all liked. Solid Rock.

This was a small church that focused on building the community among the church members. It was a tight knit bunch and we made a lot of friends while attending.

I was young at the time and only attended the kid's service. I've always thought religion was interesting, but as an adult I don't go to church. I'm sure later in my life I'll become apart of a religious community again but right now it doesn't interest me.

My favorite part about Sunday Service was always the music. I could get lost in the music. Praise and Worship. I would stretch my hands to the sky and close my eyes while swaying and singing the words. Music moves my spirit.

church.jpgPhoto by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Churches are where communities come together to gain knowledge and wisdom. Some people feel like churches are fake. Or that people who go don't practice what they preach. I'm not sure any of that really matters. What's important is that how people are when attending church. What mindstate does it put them in?

Reflection. This is an integral part to church.

Knowledge. Church is meant to increase the pulpit's knowledge of the word.

Is church specifically related to Christianity. When I think of Church I think of a gathering of people for a religion. A mosque and temple are both offshoots of churches, but represent different religions. What separates these places of worship other than what they are called?

When it get's boiled down to the fundamentals, churches, mosques, and temples are all houses of worship where people gather together to explore their faith.


This post was written via The Most Dangerous Writing App in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest. Today's (Day 117) prompt is "church". If you're curious about the #dailyfreewritechallenge, check out the introduction post here

Sort:  

"When it get's boiled down to the fundamentals, churches, mosques, and temples are all houses of worship where people gather together to explore their faith." Very well said! Great freewrite, especially using the most dangerous writing app. Tip!
Today's prompt is being delivered to you by cupids arrow: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-118-5-minute-frewrite-wednesday-prompt-lace

Hi @mkkenny13! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @whatisnew :)

@whatisnew wrote lately about: Day: 113- 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday-Prompt: Ski. Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

So true, people are all trying to get to the same place, just via different paths. What is in the name of a place, when the purpose is the same? Nicely written :)

"What's important is what people are like when attending church"

I instinctively wanted to argue that notion. But I won't, because if I think about that notion, I agree. What you are in the moment is what matters.

I agree! Growing up with parents who had two different religions I found they had one thing in common and that was belief in good, belief in the Lord, and belief in each other. No matter what, that's all that mattered. Great job!

Thanks! I grew up in a Christian/Jewish household and it was a wonderful experience blending the two cultures/religions into my early development!

Nice piece. I think a lot of kids bored in mass take refuge in the music.

It's me again here with today's prompt:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-118-5-minute-frewrite-wednesday-prompt-lace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70