5 minute freewrite. Prompt: NothingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

facebook.jpg
"hummingbird" by @mininthecity

Alright. I asked my google assistant to set a five minute timer so I can write my first five minute free write. About nothing. Let's see how many somethings I can say about nothing.

All I want is to be alone, without worries, and with nothing on my mind. To finally meditate and be with myself, really there, in body, mind, and spirit. When I try to think of nothing, to clear my mind, I think about thinking about nothing. I talk to myself and tell myself to stop thinking, to be silent. It's challenging.

I'm receiving neurofeedback therapy to train my brain to be less anxious. Will I finally, at last, be able to really think of nothing? To meditate, without listening to a guided meditation? To sit alone in a forest, beside Lake Superior, on a river bank, and really just be. Be present. Can my mind become as still as my body? I'm so curious to discover how this process of changing the way my neurons fire will change the way I experience life. It's so hard to relax with such a busy mind. Always questioning, always judging, always demanding I do more and do better. I'm exhausted.

And there's the timer...

P.S. Thank you to @mariannewest @angelina1212 @wordymouth for encouraging me to participate in my first free write. I definitely want to do this more often, and read more of the other entries. I will likely always add a photo after writing, as a way off topping of the creativity :)

Read about the #freewrite daily prompt and join in the fun!

5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: nothing


freewrite.jpeg

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Aww... We all deserve serenity of mind.

Thanks for reading my first free write. Sometimes I can feel present and peaceful, usually in nature. I am working on quieting the mind.

I understand a constantly running mind. Although it's not 24/7 for me, I have my own battles with anxiety. I hope that you will be able to find the piece that you were looking for. I really love the beautiful hummingbird card! Did you make that yourself? Nice freewrite. It's noteworthy how many interesting pieces the word nothing produced.

Thank you for the thoughtful reply! May we both "beat" anxiety when it gets in our way :) The card was given to me and I cherish it. I feel a strong affinity with hummingbirds. Yes, I agree it's telling that the topic nothing led to so many somethings. I'm following you and will look for your work in future #freewrite posts!

Hi @mininthecity. Welcome to freewrite community. I first started and I cant stop. Awesome community here.

And well look at you go. Love this freewrite. Yes often I found myself thinking about "nothing" when I ask myself stop thinking. Or i would be thinking of "stop thinking". well looks like our brain is forever active even while we are sleeping. 😊

I appreciate the warm welcome :) Thanks for reading and sharing your experience!

Congrats on your first freewrite!

Thank you! This reminds me to check out the prompt for today...

Congratulations on your first freewrite! (Should I warn you that they are addicting? 😉) Welcome to our group!

Freeing the mind and letting go of worries is so hard! It takes so much exhaustive effort and I hope that you are able to shed those anxieties and are able to find a new way to enjoy life!

:) I can imagine becoming addicted to the #freewrite tag. For me it's a matter of spending enough time online to do it all when I'd rather be active. Once I start writing and interacting though it is quickly addicting. I really appreciate you thoughtful and kind comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43