This Is Her Story | #FreeWrite [Squash]

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Last night, I dreamed about her again.



I don't know how to make it stop. I have familiar dreams that was always there—they repeatedly come and go. And she was one of my constant dweller.


I want to tell a part of her story... I must tell.


I used to go to my aunt's house when I was younger, it's on a different village where there are more kids of my age. More kids means more playmates. And there is where I met her.


As I've said, it was a long time ago so I can't even recall her name, but I wont and I cant forget her face and her story that one sunny day.


All the kids doesn't want to play with her, and it made me wonder why. She has this pretty face but her hair was cut super short and her dress was old and soiled as if she's been wearing it for quite sometime. So I stopped playing with others and sat beside her. I introduced myself and so is she, and from there we clicked, I don't mind if I can't play anymore with other kids as long as we're together


I told her how lonely our place is, she told me about how she wanted to have a home with her stray dog. I told her about my school, she told me how she earned money by selling plastics to the buyers in the market. I told her how I hate my little brothers, she told me how she wish she has one. I told her that I love to dance, she told me that dancing is costly so she prefer singing to ease her pain. I told her I want to stay here, she told me how she wanted to leave.


And then it dawned at me, It took me awhile before I see the pattern. I would relentlessly talk about something she actually wanted. But that's not all, what she said next... haunts me forever.


She asked me if she can tell me a secret and made me promise that I won't tell anyone... just yet.
I said Yes and told her I won't tell anyone. Then she looked at me straight in the eyes as she tell me this;
"I am living with my stepfather, every night he would come drunk and red-eyed. Every night he would ask me to remove my dress and not cry. Every night it hurts. Every night I die."



I might still be young but I knew what she meant. At young age, I wanted to make that guy suffer or even kill him with my own little hands—but I knew it's impossible. I told her she should tell her Mother, she told me she did but instead of helping her she call her a liar and made her sleep outside their house.
We should tell my aunt. But she told me it's not a good idea, her stepfather will go after us and might do something really bad to me. I got scared. So I kept my mouth shut. I hugged her and it was the last time I saw her.



How brutal this world can be?


How can they make kids suffer that much?


How can someone squash her spirit and dreams?


How can we make it stop?


26206CCB-15B3-4B8F-9D1F-EEFF12592210.jpeg

source

“Tell them about how you're never really a whole person if you remain silent, because there's always that one little piece inside you that wants to be spoken out, and if you keep ignoring it, it gets madder and madder and hotter and hotter, and if you don't speak it out one day it will just up and punch you in the mouth from the inside.” ― Audre Lorde



* Freewriting- is the practice of writing down all your thoughts without stopping, and without regard for spelling, grammar, or any of the usual rules for writing. It might include a topic (prompt) as a general guide, or it might not.
** Thank you @mariannewest for your initiative to run #freewrite, #freewritepoetry, #freewritepoetrydigest.



Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @qurator, @acidyo, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @precise, @enginewitty, @noblewitness and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  
Hello.??

Congratulations @michellpiala, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.

You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.


See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Thank you for having me featured @bestofph. More Power!

I'm really saddened by the story, I have handled a lot of cases like this when I was a Guidance Coordinator and I really asked God for His guidance to fight and handle such cases. Still, thankful to God because I got courage to help those children, BTW, there are Child Protection Center or DSWD where we can refer cases like this.

I am not happy for their expense but I'm happy that you were able to help those kids. on my part I was too young by that time, and up until now my guilt eats me.

Congratulations @michellpiala! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What a sad sad thing to happen to way too many children. And you were a child yourself ...

Not sure if you got the newest prompt yet
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-276-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-potbellied

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michellpiala from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47