People Would Always ‘Categorize’ | #FreeWrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I want something of different breed.

I prefer an unusual kind.

I choose a certain class.



People today are so into categorizing all things that comes their way, and I can say that it is normal and it is okay. What's wrong is when we do this to make others feel worthless or far inferior from the other.


So just this morning I heard a couple of girls talking about having a new dog; "I was planning to ask my Mom for a dog as her birthday gift to me, maybe a Pomeranian would be nice right?"
"Why would you need to ask for another one, you have Snow?” the girl on pink asked her.
"Duh?! Snow is a mongrel.



Another example for me would be how we interact, how affectionate we are or how we carry ourselves in front of a person who have greater influence than those people who doesn't have anything to offer. I've seen a lot of documentaries where people would act differently toward the former and the latter. People are kinder, more forgiving , more courteous and polite to those people who belong to the upper class rather than those who are truly in need of help.


I won't be hypocrite, for there are times I caught myself being like this too. Though one thing is for sure, it doesn't make me feel any better.


So as I've mentioned class, kind, breed and category are not the things that I find unacceptable. It is the mere thought of using these as standard to demean, degrade, or devalue others.


FCFED290-A437-4D3A-86E9-A712B368C677.jpeg
source



Wouldn't it be possible to just love, appreciate, and respect each other? Because only through these we can truly accept and celebrate one’s class, kind, breed or category.

The moment a little boy is concerned with which is a jay and which is a sparrow, he can no longer see the birds or hear them sing.—Eric Berne



* Freewriting- is the practice of writing down all your thoughts without stopping, and without regard for spelling, grammar, or any of the usual rules for writing. It might include a topic (prompt) as a general guide, or it might not.
** Thank you @mariannewest for your initiative to run #freewrite, #freewritepoetry, #freewritepoetrydigest.
*** TODAY'S PROMPT: BREED



Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @qurator, @acidyo, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @precise, @enginewitty, @noblewitness and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

That is seriously well said. It's not that I'm never part of the problem, but today I am aware of it and actively work to minimize that part of me.

Thank you, for a wonderful reminder about right and wrong.

No. thank you. Thank you for your positive feedback it is encouraging.
More power @bigtom13

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

It has something to do with the way we socially evolved. Treat those with greater influence better to increase your chances of earning more favors and better opportunities for a higher social mobility.

The higher you are placed in society the less er danger and more security. I don't know the terms for the behavior but what I do know is that the habit has been engraved that it can be kept from awareness.

We pick our friends. We pick our fights. We pick our interactions. Dumbing it down for the sake of survival or better living conditions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82