Metal Butterfly

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

I landed my flier on a field. From the air, it looked all violet. Indeed, when I stepped out of the door, heather flowers were all around me.

It was early Sunday morning and the dew was still on flowers. My god, how I was glad to be here, out in the wild, away from people, hustle and ever-present AI adviser, bombarding you with their pestering recommendations, go there, do this, talk to them…

Indeed, it was magic! Heather flowers smelled so sweet and natural. I inhaled a full chest of the morning air started hopping through the field, lifting my hands high in the air like a little boy and whistling the motive of old Stevenson’s ballad.

As I was moving through the fields, I frighten butterflies and a multitude of them rushed up in the sky, making the surrounding look even prettier. All of different colors and ornaments, they as if personified an enchanted nature as it was thousand years ago. I especially paid attention at one of them, larger than others, golden with a sophisticated spray of black polka dots.

A childish desire to catch it overwhelmed me and I started running after it, trying to grab it. Yet the butterfly was quick and maneuverable that time evaded my hands.

“Wait a second, buster!” I remembered that inside the flier I have a miniature vacuum gun. This device allowed picking up little objects that crawled into uncomfortable spaces. I ran to my vehicle and surprisingly the butterfly followed me as if it was a game.

I pointed the gun toward the butterfly and pressed the trigger. The device immediately swallowed the insect. “Now I am going to get you, you little miss pretty!” With that, I protruded my hand inside the receiving cavity and… I felt something hard, like dull raisers. Pulled it out and immediately the thought jerked me like an unexpected basketball move.

“Got damn you! Can’t you ever live me alone! Damn Big brother! Here for you, here, here”

I squeezed my hand as hard as I could hear how metal butterfly cracked, crushing its embedded eavesdropping chip into dust.


Contest conditions


My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest.

Sort:  

This is why I stick to poems. Nice story. Really enjoyed it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! You mean poetry is much harder.

A nice twist!

Thank you! Glad you liked it.

A terrific little story, especially for such an awkward prompt!

It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery duo here with the thorny prompt for today:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-621-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-stone-rose

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you! An interesting new prompt!

Something went wrong... Wonder if the butterfly teacher a lesson.

Posted using Partiko Android

Every time you feel butterflies in your stomach - it's them teaching us a lesson. 😝

I guess I thought them a lesson and killed or banned them all. No butterflies here since years.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's impressive. Be proud of your conquered butterflies! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45