Day 719: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: dachshund

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

for @mariannewest in #freewrite


Hi there,

No, I don't own dachshund, neither do my relatives, friends, and neighbors. But I owned a dog and you guys would have to be satisfied with her.

Her name was Cella. She was a mix of Malamute and Pit-bull, is well aware of her duties to safeguard our yard from all the bystanders: raccoons, opossums, rats, cats, and squirrels.

Even when our neighbor sticks his long nose through the bordering bushes, she meets his appearances with low growl rrrrrrrr…. Little did she know her bravery would be tested by a skunk.

Apparently, when she noticed the intruder she, as usual, ran right at it without barking (she rarely barked). Next thing I heard was her whining, which I didn’t hear since she was a little puppy.

I grabbed a cleaver and ran to the rescue. However, it wasn’t cleaver that I needed but, perhaps, a bath full of tomato juice, recipe against skunk stench that I only found out at a later time.


Picture Source

That's what I should have done


Poor Cella stunk. At the time, I had no idea what to do and the powerful stench didn’t help concentration. Luckily, the closest dog grooming service turned out to be only within 2 miles, which we had to walk for I couldn’t bring myself to put her in the car. You can imagine how people looked at us, while we were walking. Yet, even after a thorough cleaning, the stench still was there and have been with her for another good two months.

Sort:  

Hi @mgaft1,

I'm back! Today I recommended this post for the weekly @pifc contest, and I am very happy to find you for it. Best of luck, and keep freewriting!

Thank you! I am happy to participate with FreeWritingHouse in daily write up and weekly fiction story

hahaha. I can see the two of you walking!
I know how those two months go. The smell seems to have just gone away and one of my dogs gets it again.
When I saw the dog in the bath before I had read that far I thought Celia was covered in blood, that the cleaver had indeed been necessary. It was a nice surprise to find out it was nothing so violent.
Massengil, a feminine product, works much better than tomato juice. I keep a bunch of it under my kitchen sink. You can actually let the dog back in the house after using this.

Thank you! I wish I knew that back then. )))

She's beautiful. Poor thing I bet she had the most wonderful aroma 😁 She has the same eyes as my lost baby. He was black with a stretch of white on his chest. His eyes really stood out.

You are featured in Week 79 - Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @fitfunfood. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to some curation done, celebrate someone you find that might need some more exposure, meet new people, and possibly win some SBI for you and your featured Steemians

Thank you! Oh, tell me about it. As wonderful as you can only imagine :)

20130909_083802.jpg

He would have been 6 the end of November. We lost him 3 year ago.

Yeah. A beautiful doc. Poor guy... It is so hard to lose them. Sorry about it.

@mgaft my younger brother and sister chased a civic cat that had gotten in our house, it sprayed both of them, they stunk, and the house stunk for many days or months I can not remember. You have a beautiful dog.

Thank you! Yeah, that stink is something.

Hi @mgaft1, I love your story and want to recommend it for a contest. Can you please credit the tomato juice photo if it is not yours? I cannot recommend unless you do :(

Thanks! Sure I put it, but I don't know if it's good enough. Maybe I should just remove it?

No it's perfect! Please leave it just how it is, @mgaft1. Great post :)

hahaha - I had dogs that got sprayed on a regular basis. so much fun to wash your dog at 10 pm - NOT!!!

ahahaha... Really. Not faun is an understatement...

What kind of dog do you have?

I had a Minpin and a Pomeranian. The Minpin knew no fear and the Pomeranian is not very smart... We had a big empty lot behind our house and they used to run up to the fence and bark at the skunk on the other side of the chainlink fence - well, that kind of fence does not deflect any angry skunk spray 😂

ahaha... That's 4 sure! )))


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 79. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Thank you so much! Appreciated it!

What a funny little story. I never saw a skunk other than in a tv or a screen, they seem to be fun!

Congratulations on being featured by @fitinfunfood in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest!

Thank you! There's nothing special in seeing a skunk. The challenge is in smelling it. )))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55