Day 664: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: deceive

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

For @mariannewest in #freewrite


On that account I’d like to paraphrase Yuval Harari.
“From very insignificant animals, human beings became the most powerful creatures on the face of this planet. This didn’t happen because humans are the strongest, fastest or largest in size, but because of the property of their brains to imagine and to believe in the same imaginary story. That ability is both a blessing and a condemnation because depending on what that story is it could lead to the greatest good or greatest evil. We can persuade a chimpanzee to exchange a banana to coconut, but there is no chimpanzee in existence who would agree to exchange a real banana to a promise of many bananas and coconuts after their death in chimpanzee’s paradise. Such things goodwill, liberty, and freedom of speech are all imaginary stories, created by people. If we open a person up we will find blood, liver, kidney, heart, but even the smallest cell in his body does not contain the declaration of independence. Equally, imaginary in nature, but opposite in results are Mein Kampf or Communist Manifesto.”
Human interruptions in a developed human society are based on a variety of imaginary of imaginary stories and by their very nature might contain approximations, double standards, and clear-cut deception. This is simply the way human beings operate. )

Sort:  

It surely is and good examples of the power of the mind. Well written.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I recommend you to read the books of Yuval Noah Harari "Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind" and "Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow" which are among the world's best-sellers )

Thank you for the recommendations!

Posted using Partiko Android

Such an interesting discussion is developing mgaft1.............
I read the argument you quote and my spirit sinks. Man is so predictably horrible in my opinion. He is greedy, bossy and selfish.
BUT then there is God............
My heart lifts and my spirit soars because the creator of all this gives me hope. I know him as a Father and friend. In my dark hours he is my only source of inspiration. Literally he is the light of a golden dawn after the darkness of the night.
The bible is a marvelous history book at the very least and for me it is the biggest eye opener of the reality of heaven on earth. Read the gospels of the new testament, just give it a try and measure what their story is against the interesting author you recommend...............just saying!

Hi, and thanks for reading.

This is a complicated issue and one of its complications is not to offend the feelings of people who, like you, put so much hope in God and his grace.

Let me put it this way... Let's say there is incontestable proof that the Bible is written by a man or rather by a coalition of men sometimes in the seven-century BC just like beautiful Greek legends were written about Zeus, Apollo, and Hercules.

What would this proof mean to the millions of people who find in God consolations, justification and the set of moral virtues to maintain? Absolute disarray and spiritual disaster. They’d be sitting ducks for any kind of ideological diversion and that’s what’s happening in the Western world right now with cultural Marxism. To me who lived under the Soviet dictatorship, its advancement is odd and scary to look at.

It’s like the Tree of Knowledge that God forbade Adam and Eve to eat from. In other words, any new knowledge needs to fall in a prepared mind or else it causes a disaster like the nuclear explosion. )

Oh those human constructs passed off as the words of wiser men and sometimes even those of gods. Messing us all up good.
Love the monkey comparison.

Thank you!

I like how your writing has me thinking. Unfortunately, I don't have any upvotes so I'll give you a comment with a thumb's up!
What do you make of spirit? Isn't there life beyond this world?

Hi there,

You don't have to upvote. It is much more important to share thoughts and I salute you for that!


The short answer is: I don't know. For the long one, you'd have to bear with me...

Yuval Harari is a World famous historian and a professor at Jerusalem University. I enjoyed his lectures and agree with his main points in general. However, I agree with him, not on all his points. For example, he feels that most wars are caused by the disagreement in the Disagreement in the fictional stories that both sides cannot agree on. This argument fits with religious wars or with the Middle Eastern conflict. However, I feel that many wars are caused by purely economic reasons, the control over the trade routes, colonies, etc.
All this to say is that my personal opinion is not always the coincides with those whom I quote.
In regards to spirits… Personally, I have never seen or experienced them. That is not to say that other people didn’t see them or experience them. I simply don’t know. More so, spirits are not material, but energy entities and I never studied them, or researches about them. Thus, I can offer an intelligent opinion on that subject neither con nor pro. )))

Congratulations @mgaft1! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76