You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 664: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: deceive

in #freewrite5 years ago

Such an interesting discussion is developing mgaft1.............
I read the argument you quote and my spirit sinks. Man is so predictably horrible in my opinion. He is greedy, bossy and selfish.
BUT then there is God............
My heart lifts and my spirit soars because the creator of all this gives me hope. I know him as a Father and friend. In my dark hours he is my only source of inspiration. Literally he is the light of a golden dawn after the darkness of the night.
The bible is a marvelous history book at the very least and for me it is the biggest eye opener of the reality of heaven on earth. Read the gospels of the new testament, just give it a try and measure what their story is against the interesting author you recommend...............just saying!

Sort:  

Hi, and thanks for reading.

This is a complicated issue and one of its complications is not to offend the feelings of people who, like you, put so much hope in God and his grace.

Let me put it this way... Let's say there is incontestable proof that the Bible is written by a man or rather by a coalition of men sometimes in the seven-century BC just like beautiful Greek legends were written about Zeus, Apollo, and Hercules.

What would this proof mean to the millions of people who find in God consolations, justification and the set of moral virtues to maintain? Absolute disarray and spiritual disaster. They’d be sitting ducks for any kind of ideological diversion and that’s what’s happening in the Western world right now with cultural Marxism. To me who lived under the Soviet dictatorship, its advancement is odd and scary to look at.

It’s like the Tree of Knowledge that God forbade Adam and Eve to eat from. In other words, any new knowledge needs to fall in a prepared mind or else it causes a disaster like the nuclear explosion. )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65144.58
ETH 2627.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83