Day 14: 5 Minute Freewrite-prompt: Apricot

in #freewrite6 years ago

Freewrite @mariannewest

The apricots of my childhood came from a can of sugary sweetness. I loved them and was so disappointed when, as an adult, I first saw fresh apricots in the produce section of my Midwestern grocery store and got them home to find they were sour and hard and nothing like the ones I had grown up eating. I tried again, and ended up with dry, grainy textured fruit. It was a pretty color, though!

I gave up wasting my money on them...until I saw some on the truck of a roadside vendor while traveling in Greece. I bought a small bag from the man, and drove off.

image

Later in the day, I reached in my paper sack and tentatively bit into one of the pretty little fruits. It was pure delight! Apricot juice was dripping down my chin! (Who knew that apricots even had juice?) This was what an apricot should be! If I could have, I would have gone back the next day for more and I do think the apricots would be reason enough to move to Greece!

Sort:  

@melimda010100 @mariannewest

If I ever travel to Greece, I will most definitely buy and try an apricot. I prefer peaches, and I love plums. Another writer wrote her apricot prompt on preserves, and it reminded me that I have wanted to learn how to make strawberry and other fresh fruit preserves. I love preserves and toast with tea. yummm.

Keep Sharing,
@theprettysoul

I love peaches and plums, too! I've made a lot of jams and jellies...when my kids were all home and eating P&J sandwiches. I just had peach jam on my English muffin this morning....store bought, though. Homemade is always better!

@melinda010100
I am going to make a video on "how to make strawberry preserves soon. I will share it with you when I finish it. How are you today? Any esteemed goals that you want to have done by the end of the week? I am going to write a piece on Self Love tonight​.

@theprettysoul

I tried them once and got the same dry fruit and never tried them again. Happy that you were able to experience a juicy one. : )

I can really relate to this post. Nothing like tasting what a real apricot should be tasting. Most likely the one's you had in Greece weren't altered for mass marketing and were even organic from a local, small farm.

I hadly even eat one. not a common fruit in my place.

Let's go to Greece :D

I'll start packing!

Yes!! Let's move to Greece for the apricots. I am convinced that people who do not like apricots never had a really ripe one. Can't get those in the stores - they don't transport or keep when they are ripe......
Today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-white-cat

I really understand this !!! in Israel, apricots are rubbery and tasteless. in the south of Ukraine, juicy and sweet apricots; I really like jam and those apricots

So totally identify with your experience of tinned apricots only... Until I travelled to London for work, and bought a bag of apricots, plums and peaches... and hand-carried them home! I preciously kept them in my fridge, and ate them very stingily... hahaha - But I got the sweet wonderful fragrant heavenly ones... Thank goodness!!! :))

Having perfectly delicious fruit is an experience to be remembered!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85